FO Friday: That Garter/Cable Thing

Standard

P1010008

I finished it! Well, sorta. I cast off my design sample (so far known as garter stitch+cables+Malabrigo) yesterday evening. It’s one of those projects that I had really, really high hopes for. In fact, I’m not sure that I could have ever met those hopes, even if everything went perfectly and it was a breeze. In any case, it’s not exactly what I was expecting, but I think I’m coming to terms with what I ended up with.

P1010005

I mean, it’s Malabrigo, so it just feels like heaven around my neck. Heaven, I tell you! And the texture has made it so thick and warm that I bet I could wear it in the arctic and still be comfortable.

P1010002

The whole plan was to hit on the “sweet spot” so that the colors from a very, very variegated skein of Malabrigo Worsted would make up and down stripes. In the end, I’m pretty sure that perfect stripes are pretty impossible. I still think the pooling effect that I ended up with is pretty nice!

P1010006I don’t think this pattern will come out anytime soon. It still needs to be written and tested (and I already have 2 tests going on right now) before it gets released. I’m thinking of saving it for that collection that’s been ruminating in my head. We’ll see what happens.

P1010003

For more FO Friday posts, check out Tami’s.

12 responses »

  1. Oooh, yes, lovely design and squish factor! I always have Malabrigo in my stash … it’s one of my favorite yarns to knit with and I love how the skein you used knit up into such an intriguing project.

  2. Love the look! The colors are pretty, and I also am going into college in a few years and love knitting, and I’m glad that you can just knit whenever you want. Freedom of needles, or something, right? (: nerdwithtaste.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

