2012 in Review: Designs, Garments, and Resolutions

Standard

First up, I have my 2012 designs. They can all be found in my ravelry store, and a few are also available from Knit Picks. I would say 6 new designs in one year is pretty good, considering the amount of time it takes for me to put my thoughts down on paper. I learned a lot about designing over the coarse of the year, but there’s still a lot that needs to be done. Over the new year, I really want to think about putting together a collection. I already have a bunch of ideas about it, so, hopefully, by this time next year I will have something to show you all!

Finally, there are the garments. There were definitely some hits and some misses, with several in between. The biggest disappointment was probably my Rocky Coast Cardigan. I didn’t find the errata until after I had finished my sleeves, and they were way, way too small. I still haven’t been able to bring myself to re-knit them. I’m starting to think the yarn is just a little cursed- it had already been frogged from a sweater that was too small!

Projects that turned out OK were my Corona (which really only needed finished), Zest, and Coquette. I’ve worn most of these a few times. They’re not exactly the first garments I turn to, but once in a while they seem to fit the bill. Plus, they were all a pleasure to knit, so who cares!

But my absolute favorites are my Livingstone and Locke St. Cardigans. I guess I just love cozy cables and shawl collars! I wear both of these all of the time (Locke a little more, since Livingstone is so heavy). The are warm and lovely. I can wear them to class or student teaching, and easily dress them down for time around the house. So much fun!

In the next year, I definitely want to continue this trend with experimenting with different garment styles. I tend to wear Cardigans a lot, so a few more of those will be nice, but I also want to push the boundaries and work on some more pullovers or tee’s. And I definitely want to try my hand at designing a garment!

4 responses »

  1. Do you have any friends in the dorms who knit? When I was a student, no one else knitted. But back then it wasn’t as fashionable as it is now.

Leave a Reply

