Year in Review Part 1: Socks!

Standard

I guess it’s that time of the year again! I figured I would split my review of the past year into a few smaller, more manageable chunks. Even though I’ve had several weeks of a break, my brain still feels a little fried from that last semester. Hopefully, things will get better soon! I’ll start today with everyone’s favorites, the socks! I honestly thought that I had made more than 6 pairs throughout the year, but I guess I’m wrong. I might consider making that a resolution for next year- knit more socks. Lord knows I have enough sock yarn in my stash!

Starting at the top and going left to right (and newest to oldest), there are the By the Seine River Socks using Candy Skein Yummy in Butter Mint. I remember modding the pattern to make it top-down, but they still fit like a dream! The stitch pattern isn’t bulky at all, but allows just a bit of breathability. Plus, I still have the other half of this skein, so you better bet there will be another pair in these colors soon!

Next up, there’s the Pillars Socks. These are also in Candy Skein Yummy, although this colorway is Arctic Mint. Somewhere along the line I messed up the stitch pattern a little, but I still think they looks awesome. Plus, this picture totally shows the electric blue of this colorway. Trust me, if you haven’t picked any up yet, you MUST try Candy Skein. The Yummy is her standard wool/acrylic sock yarn blend. It is definitely not the softest sock yarn I’ve worked with, but it is fairly hard wearing the the dye is holding pretty well. Plus, her colors are just out of this world!

I knit these little anklets using the ever-wonderful Knit Picks Felici Self-Striping yarn. I have no idea how they make sock yarn this soft, but it actually came out of the machine looking the same as when it went in! Alas, I sent these on to my sister for a birthday present, so I guess I’m just going to have to add on a skein to my next order 🙂

Next are my Bubble Stream Socks. I remember this pattern being pretty awesome to knit- very entertaining. Still, I wish that I had added just a few stitches to it, because it does tend to not stretch the way stockinette does, making it a little tighter on my feet. I used the other half of the Candy Skein I mentioned earlier- it does knit into some awesome socks!

My Scrap Socks started as just being a fun way to waste time and use up some scrap yarn, but they did turn out into a pretty nice pair of socks. I love wearing them because they remind me of all of the projects I used the yarn for- even the gifts!

Finally, I started out the year with a pair of simple anklets using the rest of my Twilight Knits Superwash Merino Fingering Weight in the Duchess colorway. The first pair had faded a lot with some pretty heavy wear, but these haven’t yet. I just love those bright colors so much! And these are short enough that pretty much no one notices them, which means I can wear them whenever!

That’s it for now! Tomorrow I have a HUGE blog week(s) in review to share, plus I’ll show off my finished accessories from this year. Let’s get excited!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Confessing a Year of Knitting Sins « All She Wants To Do Is Knit

Leave a Reply

