Thanksgiving Knitting

Standard

This thanksgiving, I am absolutely thankful for knitting. It is perhaps the only thing keeping me sane. Unfortunately, my deadlines are actually driving me crazy. Hanukah is really, really early this year, and we decided to celebrate it tomorrow while the whole family is in town. So, let’s go through the list of knitted presents.

Daniela Cowl

First, my Daniela Cowl. This is the sample for my newest design. It was inspired and named for my sister, so it’s no accident that it is going to her this Hanukah. I used just less than 2 skeins of Knit Picks City Tweed DK to make the medium size. I don’t know if she’s ever had an eternity scarf before, so I hope she likes it. If you would like to check the pattern out, I suggest here on the Knit Picks site.

Windscheif

I made my father a Windscheif in some wonderful Windswept Farms Knitter’s Choice. It’s luscious and warm, so if my father doesn’t like it, I will definitely steal it. The good news is that I have over 60g left, so I’m definitely making myself something!

Turn of the Glass

My mother’s Turn of the Glass Cardigan is currently blocking. It is almost entirely dry. I may have to take it off while it is still slightly damp, but I didn’t really have to do much tugging to get it to the right dimensions, so I am OK with this. I used a little less than 4 skeins of Berocco Vintage DK, which is a perfect gift yarn: hard wearing but comfortably soft. All I have left to do is seam the arms and sew in the ends. Lets hope that I have enough time for that!

Citron

Finally, there’s my Aunt’s Citron. I have been marathon knitting this since I cast on Sunday. I’m on the final ruffle of the pattern. So close! Of course, there are only 540 stitches in each row, and I still have at least 5 to go. Depending on how this afternoon goes, I might try to add another couple of rows for just a little more length. But I’m still going to have to get it on the blocking board by this evening if I want it dry to give. Luckily, Malabrigo Lace won’t take anywhere near as long as DK weight!

2 responses »

  1. Those projects look great. And I can’t believe how fast you’ve knit that Citron.

    I’ve found that if you have a fan blowing over a project, it dries faster. Especially in winter when everything stays damp.

Leave a Reply

