WIP Wed: Mom’s Cardigan, Part 1

Standard

I finally got the chance to cast on a new cardigan over the weekend. My mother requested a sweater for Hanukah this year. I’ve tried this in the past with some not-so-awesome results. I think my main problem has been gauge and fit; she likes a looser sweater, which requires that magic animal, EASE. My skills have improved since then, so hopefully we’ll have a better result this time.

Turn of Glass, sniped from ravelry

She picked this sweater. It’s Turn of Glass from the Winter 2011 Knitty. She already asked me to mod it for a little more length, plus my gauge swatch was a little short (I got 3.5″ instead of 4″), so I’m adding a couple extra inches to the bottom. That’s 2 rows of extra seed stitch, plus two inches of stockinette, and I’m extending the chart. At least, that’s the plan. I ordered PLENTY of extra yarn (that’s Berrocco Vintage DK). I hadn’t even noticed that the pattern is written for 50g skeins, and my yarn is 100g. I’m pretty sure I’ll have 2 extras, even after the mods. Fuschia scarf, anyone?

My very, very limited progress

So far, I’ve done about 10 rows of seed stitch. This is definitely the boring part- I have 208 stitches on the needles (I know because I tried to get that number twice before it actually worked out. That was a struggle!). You knit all the way across the bottom, plus I haven’t started the fun cable rib chart yet. I’m excited to get there!

For more WIP Wed. posts, check out Tami’s!

8 responses »

  1. 1) That yarn is gorgeous. I need more Berrocco in my life.
    2) That cardigan is awesome! It’ll look great in that yarn and hopefully the modifications live up to her expectations. I get nervous knitting hats for people, I can’t imagine knitting an entire sweater for someone!

    Can’t wait to see more progress – keep up the great work!

  2. I hope that your sweater for your mom turns out the way your both hope! I knit sweaters for both my parents last year, and completely empathize with the struggle to get the right fit. But, it’s totally worth it in the end.

Leave a Reply

