FO Friday: Coquette

Standard

It is finally, finally finished. Yesterday, after a long, long day of classes, I managed to dredge up the energy required to unpin it from my blocking mats, sew up the armholes, and sew in all of the ends (well, most of the ends. I promise that you cannot see the little one I missed around the armhole). So I can introduce you to a finished version of Coquette.

Everything about this pattern was pretty much a surprise, mostly in a good way. I don’t usually enjoy summer patterns, but Interweave Knits Summer 2012 was pretty good, and I ended up falling in love with this vest/tank top by Adrienne Larson. By complete accident, I ended up purchasing the required yarn, Zitron Filigran (100% wool). This may be the first time that ever happened!

As for mods, I did shorten the pattern considerably. Even though I did a guage swatch, I think my tension must have changed while I knitted. I blocked almost entirely for length, and the tank is overall looser than I expected. This was actually a happy surprise, as I was expecting something very fitted, and now I may even be able to wear this while working! Besides that, the pattern did call for an icord finishing, but I’m scrapping that. The selvage along the edges is plenty even, and I really, really do not feel like making lace weight icord for a year.

Also surprisingly, I have over 3/4 of a 100g skein left, which is pretty impressive considering the next size up requires you to buy an extra skein. I’m not quite sure what I’ll do with it, but it might make a very pretty summer shawlette. That is, if I ever feel like working with lace weight again!

For more FO Friday posts, check out Tami’s.

Now that I’m finally finished with the vest, I’m really excited to move on to some other long-term projects. My mom wants a sweater for the Holidays, so I should probably get seriously started on that. I have the yarn, and I’ve even make a swatch- I just need to block it. Plus there’s the short-term hat on my needles (another present).

And I can’t stop thinking about a design collection that I’ve got stuck in my head. Now is probably not the time to start thinking about something this long term, but it’s an idea that I really, really like. I’m considering approaching Knit Picks about an ebook, although I have no idea what that process looks like. The other option would be self-publishing on ravelry, and I also don’t have much of an idea how that would go, either. Do any of you have any advice for more about that?

11 responses »

  1. it’s lovely! I hear you about lace weight projects, but I am now addicted to them. My first took 2 years to finish! Now a scarf/shawl takes me a few months. But I do other things – mostly easy hats – in between, and when I need a portable project. So keep going – and wear the vest in good health.

  2. Pretty! I can see you’ll get a lot of use out of that. If KnitPicks will support your idea, I think that would be the way to go. Reason being that they have a huge consumer base who will be exposed to your patterns and begin to recognise your name as a designer. Unless you’re well known on Ravelry, self-publishing can be a bit depressing when your patterns get lost in the thousands on the database…

  3. What a beautiful tank, it looks lovely on you!

    Your pattern collection sounds exciting. I don’t have any experience with either, but I get the impression you might reach a slightly larger audience with knitpicks. Good luck with whichever you decide on!

Leave a Reply

