WIP Wed: Catie’s Hat

Standard

Remember that project that I was talking about the other day? The one that was finished? Well, it isn’t. It’s this beret from the cover of Weekend Hats. Turns out that, after following the pattern exactly, it is nowhere near slouchy enough. I’m going to rip back the decrease rounds, add another lace repeat, and re-knit the crown. Good thing it will only take a couple of hours!

“Reddery” Beret

It is DK weight knit on US 8 needles, so my gauge may be way off. It’s such a small project with such a loose gauge that I’m not even going to measure (gasp!). I’m using Berocco Vintage DK in a great red color. I ordered it from online, and I was so surprised at how deep and variable the color is. You can definitely feel the acrylic content, but I do think I’m going to enjoy the yarn and work with it in the future.

I’m also working on re-knitting a sample of one of my free patterns, the Leafy Tops Hat. The original pattern had Knit One Crochet Too Brae Tweed as the suggested yarn, a really luscious tweedy blend. It’s pretty affordable for the fiber content, but I don’t think that it is completely universally available. I love this pattern, so I thought that I would re-knit it in Knit Picks City Tweed Heavyweight and see if Knit Picks wanted to make it available for free on their web site. The sample is knitting up so quickly that I’m really excited to get it out there!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

