Wip Wed & Yarn!

Standard

I’m chugging away on my Coquette Vest. The lace pattern is pretty intuitive, and I think it’s coming along nicely. My progress was somewhat impeded by the dog getting hold of the yarn and tangling it up a little while I was home last weekend, but I straightened that out pretty quickly. I’ve probably gotten another 3ish inches since last week, which is pretty impressive considering I’m using lace weight Filigran and haven’t had a whole lot of knitting time.

Coquette Vest

Unfortunately, it’s probably going to have to go on the shelf for a while in favor of Christmas Knits. I finally got the HUGE order that I put in at Webs a couple of weeks ago, so now it’s time to start working on that.

Berocco Vintage DK

First, there’s a single skein of Berocco Vintage DK (50% Acrylic, 40% Wool, 10% Nylon- 288yds/100g). It’s much more of a cranberry color than you can tell in the picture, I promise. This is destined to be a beret for a friend. Ok, it’s for her Birthday, which was a couple of months ago, but it still counts. Honestly, we were on opposite ends of the state, so I like to think that I’m doing ok.

Valley Yarns Superwash DK

Next, there’s about 9 skeins of Valley Yarns Superwash DK (100% Extrafine Merino- 137yards/50g) in a minty green color. This was more of a guilty purchase for me than anything else- I think I’m going to use it to make myself a sweater! It’s incredibly light and lofty, so I bet it will make a comfy cardigan.

Berocco Vintage DK

This is another 6ish skeins of Vintage DK in fuchsia (a little darker then this) for a Hanukah sweater for my mother. She picked out the color online, so this time she can’t say that she doesn’t like it!

Valley Yarns Northampton

Next, there’s a single skein of Valley Yarns Northampton (100% Wool- 247 yards/100g) in Lake Heather. It’s much greener than the picture! This will probably make someone a hat at some point in time- it’s a just-in-case yarn. Ok, so it will probably end up in my stash. What’s wrong with that?

Valley Yarns Huntington

Last but not least, there’s two skeins of Valley Yarns Huntington (75% Fine Superwash Merino Wool, 25% Nylon- 218 yards/50g) for future socks. Yes, this is also stash, but let’s be honest- I make a lot of socks! They would go really well with one of my crazy-er yarns to make the Stitch Surfer socks from the new Knitty, wouldn’t they? Those socks are really cool, so if you haven’t seen them yet, check them out!

That’s about all for me on this WIP Wed. I know that I haven’t been blogging a lot recently, but life has been really hectic. I’m trying! Hopefully, I’ll have a long overdue blog WEEKS in review this weekend. Hopefully. If you want to see MORE WIP Wed. posts, check out Tami’s.

9 responses »

  1. I get super giddy when I see posts with beautiful skeins of yarn. And I’m so happy I’m not the only starting early on my holiday knitting! We are definitely in college, because if you didn’t start early there is no way we would finish anything! I love the stitch pattern on the vest.

  2. Now that’s what I call stash enhancement!! As for your dog’s playful time with your yarn, I can commiserate. I’ve got a very yarn-loving cat who finds my yarn even when I hide it and plays cat’s cradle all through the house at night!

  3. I love the lace detail in the sweater. It’s a shame you have to put it on hold for Christmas presents. Hopefully you can get the other things done quickly to get back to it. Your recipients are lucky people!

  4. The lace is beautiful. I love that it is intuitive because it looks difficult. “Easy” knitting that looks hard and makes people ooh and ahh are my favorite kind of projects!

Leave a Reply

