FO Friday: Pillars Socks

Standard

I finally managed to finish my pillars socks! I used just over 50g of some leftover Candy Skein Yummy (75% Superwash Merino, 25% Nylon) in the electric blue “Arctic Mint” colorway. Can I just repeat how much I love Tami over at Candy Skein’s colors? They are always beautiful. The base for yummy is definitely intended for socks, however. It’s hard and just a teeny bit crunchy. While that doesn’t make it the most pleasant yarn to work with, I don’t think I’ll see any wholes in these socks anytime soon. It’s a bit of a toss-up, but one that probably won’t keep me from ordering from her in the future.

Artsy tilted shot.

I converted the socks from a cuff-down pattern to a toe up for a couple of reasons. First, I love toe-up, and pretty much have the toe and heel parts memorized, which, to be honest, is about all you need a pattern for beyond the stitch pattern. Second, this was the second half of a skein of yarn, and I wanted to use almost all of it. I succeeded there- I maybe, maybe have 2 yards left. Yeah!

Socks!

Unfortunately, I am not completely sure that I’m sold on the stitch pattern. It might have been the toe-up conversion, or I might have just not done the stitch pattern properly. I just think that it doesn’t exactly match the neatness of the socks in the picture. This probably would have been something to investigate a little more BEFORE I started working on the socks, but who has time for that when you JUST HAVE TO CAST ON. In the end, they were fun to knit, and it’s not like anyone is going to spend enough time staring down at my socks to notice that it doesn’t look completely right. Maybe blocking will help? I don’t normally block my socks, just wear them for a while and then wash. That’s something to consider!

Close up of the stitch pattern.

For more FO Fridays, check out Tami’s.

9 responses »

  1. Very nice! And as another pattern flipper, I understand the dilemma. Results aren’t always what I expect but I’m happier knitting toe up than top down so I’ve accepted and moved on!

  2. Great color, nice socks. Never mind the stitch patter, the truth is that knitters don’t judge each other for such things and non knitters can’t even tell the difference. If it’s not a carbon copy, that doesn’t mean it’s wrong, besides accidental modofications gave the world some of the greatest things, like brownies, artificial colors, peacemaker, etc.

Leave a Reply

