WIP Wed: Still working on the socks

Standard

I am so close to almost being finished with these socks that it’s not even funny. I literally have 9 rows of 1×1 ribbing and a sewn bind-off left. That’s maybe an hour of work. I can feel it. It’s going to happen. By the way, they’re Pillars Socks made in Candy Skein Yummy in Arctic Mint, converted to Toe-Up.

Ok, I’ll admit it: this is the first sock. The second one is downstairs by the TV. So far away!

I also put some time into my Zest Cardigan yesterday. In the morning, I stopped by Hancock Fabric for buttons. Did I mention to you guys that Hancock is around the corner from my apartment. It’s a good thing that the best yarn they have is Wool-Ease, or I would be stopping there every morning on my walks. In the end, I decided on cheap (really cheap- 70 cents for 6) black buttons. They blend really well with the sweater and are light enough to not warp the fingering weight lace at all, which is pretty good.

Buttons!

I tried to make afterthought buttonholes, tried being the operative word. I don’t know how well they’ll hold… I followed a couple of tutorials that I found after a google search. I had looked in a couple of the knitting encyclopedias in the library (you know, the ones that are so big they would probably make a shelf collapse), and they had surprisingly little information about them. Even Principles of Knitting didn’t have more than a short entry. Still, I think they ended up working out. I’ll make sure to get pictures for Friday!

Buttonholes. I’m afraid they’re growing…

For more WIP Wed. posts, check out Tami’s.

4 responses »

  1. I reeeally like that blue color! Very pretty. Congrats on being almost done – I know the feeling. Hope you’re going to be happy with the result. Good luck! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

