Cast On Monday

Standard

Over the weekend, something magical happened. On Sunday afternoon I finished the yoke that would never end. I was so excited by this, that (after awkwardly trying on the unblocked lace sweater which was, of course, too small) I blocked my Zest Cardigan right away. Go me!

closer up

You may notice that one of the sleeves is shorter than the other one. I’m a little concerned by this- they both used the same amount of repeats, but something about the angle of how I was blocking them on the floor made it a lot harder to get length out of one than the other. We’ll see what happens when they’re finished- I can always re-block it!

Just a toe

In order to give my hands something to do while the Olympics are on and the sweater is still blocking, I’ve just cast on a quick pair of socks. This is just the beginning of a toe. I only have one skein of Knit Picks Felici, so I guess they’ll just be anklets. Although with my small feet, they’ll probably go up past my shoes a little.

Felici, already halved

Felici is an incredibly soft self-striping sock yarn. I just looked at the label, and it’s 75% superwash merino and 25% nylon, so that explains it. I’m using the Moonlit colorway, which is stripes of purple, violet, blue, teal, and lime green. I have no idea how it will look, so it’s probably best that they will be safely tucked into my socks! I took the time to half the skein with my teeny-tiny yarn scale. The measurements aren’t exact (there’s one ball of 25.1g and one of 24.3g), but it will probably be a good indicator of when to stop. In any case, I’m using the smaller ball first, so I won’t have to do too much ripping!

6 responses »

  1. I made a pair of socks with Felici and had the same concern that I might run short of yarn. My solution was to knit the toes and heels out of a coordinating solid. Guess what? I would have had plenty of yarn. Fwiw, my feet are size 8.5. If yours are tiny, you should have absolutely no problem.

  2. I am with Bethany, I love Felici. It ony goes to prove you don’t need to spend a lot of money of self-striping yarn. This yarn is wicked soft!

  3. Can’t wait to see the cardi on you! i think it will look alright!. I just finished the first of a pair of anklets myself. My thoughts are it’s summer and I still want to wear socks, but short ones!

Leave a Reply

