WIP Wed: Zest Cardigan, Part 4

Standard

Well, it’s been over a month since I last talked about my Zest Cardigan in any depth, and the end is in sight! With the crazy-ness of my internship I didn’t exactly have a lot of time for knitting, but in the last couple days I’ve been watching the Olympics nonstop, and knitting for most of that time. As a result, I’ve gotten through the entire second sleeve! It’s a bottom-up raglan worked in mostly 1 piece, so this morning I had the chance to join all of the pieces together. I used my Knit Picks interchangeable needles for everything, so putting everything together was pretty easy. I would just unscrew the needle from the part I had been knitting from and put it on the next part, using those little end things to keep myself from losing any stitches. Pretty painless, considering how badly it could have gone. Right about now, it looks something like this.

Back of the sweater, including the cable panel in the middle and the mesh lace everywhere else

I apologize for the strange pictures, it’s storming outside, so the light is a little spotty, and this is all my camera could do. I do assure you that the Knit Picks Palette that I am making this out of is BLACK, not charcoal or some other shade of grey. I promise. Did you notice that the cable panel on the back is looking a lot like arrows at this angle? I wasn’t planning that AT ALL- this mainly comes from me trying to do tricky knitting on a plane. It’s still not as awesome as the cables on the original pattern, but its a lot better then I was expecting- yeah me!

from the side- you can actually see how this is going to be a sweater!

Anyway, that’s about all I have to talk about. I’m going to go jet off to watch some beach volleyball (which I didn’t know was so fun to watch- I’m such a big fan now!). For more WIP Wed. posts, go check out Tami’s.

5 responses »

  1. Don’t you just love the progress you make during the Olympics? I wish they came around more often than every 2 years!

  2. It’s so nice to see your sweater almost done. I realized today (while browsing in a LYS) that I never knit with dark blue so I’m going to remedy that! I adore beach volleyball … Will also be cheering you on as you seam all your sweater pieces!

Leave a Reply

