Poetry in Motion

Standard

No new knitting content, but I found this poem for my creative writing class and thought that all of the knitters out there might enjoy it!

 

Ode to My Socks

Pablo Neruda

Translated by Stephen Mitchell

Maru Mori brought me

a pair

of socks

which she knitted herself

with her sheep-herder’s hands,

two socks as soft

as rabbits.

I slipped my feet

into them

as though into

two

cases

knitted

with threads of

twilight

and goatskin.

Violent socks,

my feet were

two fish made

of wool,

two long sharks

seablue, shot

through

by one golden thread,

two immense blackbirds,

two cannons,

my feet were honored

in this way

by

these

heavenly

socks.

They were

so handsome

for the first time

my feet seemed to me

unacceptable

like two decrepit

firemen, firemen

unworthy

of that woven

fire,

of those glowing socks.

 

Nevertheless

I resisted

the sharp temptation

to save them somewhere

as schoolboys

keep

fireflies,

as learned men

collect

sacred texts,

I resisted

the mad impulse

to put them

in a golden

cage

and each day give them

birdseed

and pieces of pink melon.

Like explorers

in the jungle who hand

over teh very rare

golden deer

to the spit

and eat it

with remores,

I stretched out

my feet

and pulled on

the magnificent

socks

and then my shoes.

 

The moral

of my ode is this:

beauty is twice

beauty

and what is good is doubly

good

when it is a matter of two socks

made of wool

in winter.

 

 

-From Americans’ Favorite Poems, ed. by R Pinky and M Dietz, (New York: W. W. Norton and Company, 2000) 200-202.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

