Blog Week in Review: 6/16-6/24

Standard

Wow, do I have a lot of posts to show you guys this week. You would think that, with the summer heat encroaching, FO’s would slow down. Oh no, it’s totally the opposite. Over the week I have favorited ten (10!) posts to share with you. You all better get excited!

First, we have the hats. Knitting Love’s Beret is really cool. I love the lacey rib stitch pattern, and it seems to fit perfectly. There’s not so much flop that the hat seems to explode out from your head, but it’s not so small that you feel like you are just wearing a large hat. Very awesome.

The other hat is the Bored Knitter’s Wild Apple. It is an explosion of colorwork and skill that I know I will never be able to achieve. The stitch pattern just looks so intricate and I really love all of the colors she picked. And, of course, the most important thing is that she loves it so much that she’s willing to overlook her mistakes and flaws- perfect!

We just have one finished pair of socks today- Dona Knits’s Embossed Leaves. I think that most of us would probably agree when we say that this pattern is a classic, and her knitting skills and yarn choice don’t let it down. Simply put, this pair is the reason this pattern became so popular- the crisp stitch definition, the leaf motif, and the wonderful color options!

I really like Don’t Drool on the Wool’s improvised tea pocket. At first I was all “doesn’t tea already come in pockets,” but then I gave it a thought. You can put a couple of different options into one pocket and then just keep it in your purse (or backpack, if you are me), and that way you don’t have to dig around, only to find decaf when you want caf, or lipton when you want herbal, etc. It really is a good idea, and I might have to whip one out today.

Dropping Stitches Serenity Blanket is nothing short of spectacular. I love the combination of the cables and the lace, and the garter border in a contrasting color is such a nice touch. There will definitely be one lucky baby out there!

Of course, you can’t have a Blog Week in Review without a huge section on shawls and scarves. I love Sezza Knits’ Oaklet. It’s a perfect little shawlette for that in-between weather! The bright pink is adorable, and I’m sure it creates a great pop of color for any outfit.

Next, there’s Smoking Hot Needles’s Cameo Shawl. The fact that it is make with her handspun is so impressive- I never would have guessed it. Plus, the pattern is just so freaking cool. I’m really starting to like these non-traditional shawls, and I’ll probably have to find some yarn with much longer color repeats to try one out!

Moving on to garments, I’ve got 2 to show you. First, there’s the Pretty Little Fiber Co.’s Georgia Vest. It’s so simple and stylish that I kind of want to go over there and steal it!

And, to close, there’s Nook’s Driftwood. This was a test knit and I really, really love it. Off of the top of my head, I would say that a worsted weight pullover would probably be way too warm for me to wear very often. But still, I love this pattern so much that it would probably be very, very hard to resist. It’s a free one, too, so there really isn’t anything stopping me from picking out some yarn…Uh oh.

So that’s it for my Blog Week in Review. I hope you enjoyed it! If you are joining me in sharing your inspiration from the last week, please leave me a comment- I am feeling just a little bit too lazy to put up a Mr. Linky, but I’m not too lazy to check out your blog 🙂

3 responses »

  1. I enjoyed going to each blog and looking at their finished objects! Thank you for sharing, I will have to make room in my queue to cast on a few of these projects!

Leave a Reply

