WIP Wed: Zest Part 3

Standard

Progress on the Zest Cardigan has been slow, but actually pretty steady. I’ve already finished the cable pattern on the back and have moved up a couple of lace repeats past it. Unfortunately, MY cable motif does not actually look like the one in the pattern, or what I wanted it to look like.

To tell the truth, it’s probably my fault. I decided to take this project with me on vacation because I was so excited about working on it, and that might have been my downfall. I printed out the pattern in black and white because that’s all my printer does, and I was not willing to go through all of the hassle of printing the pattern off somewhere else just to have pretty pictures. That would probably have been fine if I had gone ahead and taken a look at the cable pattern (I hadn’t started it then)…but I didn’t

While the chart is a rectangle, the part of the pattern that is repeted and the part that just shows the edging isn’t (did that make any sense?). Jennifer marked that border in bright red, which hardly showed up at all in my black and white copy. I was half-way through a coast to coast plane ride before I realized my mistake. At that point in time I just made the executive decision to go with it. I was not about to rip over an inch of a cable and lace sweater made with black fingering weight wool in the middle of a plane.

It didn’t come out looking like anything artistic, and I may kind of hate it, but, as of now, I’m just going with it. Right now life is kind of hectic and I JUST NEED SOMETHING TO KNIT ON. Plus, the cable pannel goes on the back, so the only time I’m going to be able to see it is when I crane my neck in the mirror. And that’s assuming I can figure out what is going on with all of that dark wool 🙂

Either way, I’m enjoying the process of knitting it. The lace pattern is definitely addictive (although I kind of hate the purl side lace row- too many p2togtbl’s) and it’s zooming off the needles. Pretty soon I’m going to have to ditch the body for the sleeves- we’ll see how that works out.

Sorry for the miserable lack of pictures. Right now I can’t seem to summon up the energy! But next time, I promise you’ll get to see it with your own eyes. For more WIP Wed. posts, check out Tami’s.

6 responses »

  1. I’m sorry the red line on the chart didn’t show up on the black and white copy. I didn’t think of that contingency… maybe I should have used a different type of line rather than a different color (since I’m sure you’re not the only one to print in B&W).

  2. I am sorry that you kind of hate it. Maybe when it blocked out, you will love it? Maybe? 🙂 Sending postive thoughts that it works out in the end for you love.

Leave a Reply

