Feeling Lucky?

Standard

Guys, I don’t know what they’re putting in the water over here, but I have been winning blog contests left and right! First, I won the blogiversary contest over on Learner’s Per-Knit, then I won Tami’s anniversary contest for Candy Skein, and now a copy of California Revival Knits from Knitting to Stay Sane. I honestly have no idea what to do with myself (except knit!).

What with all of the traveling and starting my internship this week, I really don’t have much time for blogging. I feel like I should warn you guys that, honestly, there probably won’t be that many posts in the coming weeks. I’m thinking of moving to a once or twice a week schedule, instead of the three or four times a week that I normally do. I hope that’s OK with you guys!

California Revival Knits

But, in the mean time, I thought I would do my review of California Revival Knits. To be honest, I’ve been stalking this book as it has made it’s way around the blog-o-sphere, hoping that I would win a copy. And then I did! The book starts with an introduction to the California Revival style and some information on Stephanie Tallent’s design process, which I am very excited to read…eventually. And then, oh then, it moves onto the patterns.

Wrought Iron Cardi. Sniped from the ravelry page, link below

Right now, I’m keeping my eye on two favorites that I really must knit: the Wrought Iron Cardi and the Peacock Stole. The stole is a rectangular lace piece made out of DK weight that would probably make a very nice holiday gift. The Cardigan is part of a line of wrought iron pieces that have some beautifully featured delicate cables. As you might know, I have really been digging the cables recently, and am so excited to work on some more!

Peacock Stole. Sniped from the ravelry page, link above.

I also have a couple of other pieces that I really like, and will probably work on some time in the future. There’s the three others in the wrought iron series, a pair of fingerless mitts, socks, and a beret, plus the lacey Undersea Garden Cowl and the slightly beaded Tiles, a v-neck pullover. Most of the other pieces use some sort of colorwork, which is not really my thing, but they are completely beautiful, and may be how I learn 🙂 All in all, I am so thankful to Stephanie Tallent, the designer, Cooperative Press, the publisher, and Glenna C. over on the Crazy Knitting Lady for my copy of this wonderful book. It was such an AWESOME gift!

4 responses »

  1. I went through a stage where I won a bunch of stuff too! I’ve refrained from entering blog comps of late because I felt bad!

    Beautiful book, I wish I had the skills to try some of those patterns.

  2. I was so excited when I saw that you won this giveaway over on Glenna’s blog! I know what you mean … When it rains, it pours. Hope you enjoy your internship but remember, knitting will help you balance out your day & it’s relaxing.

  3. You ARE lucky! I’ve never won anything on a blog contest! I’m always trying though! I love the Cali Revival Knits. So many cute patterns!

Leave a Reply

