Zest Cardigan, Part 1

Standard

I finally got the chance to start on my summer sweater the other day. Of course, it’s the sweater that I wanted to wear during the summer, but it will probably still be wearable well into the fall πŸ˜‰ Plus, the fact that it’s mainly made of lace will probably make it a good summer project. In case you were wondering, it’s the Zest Cardigan by Jennifer Thompson, better known (to me) as Fern Knits. Way back in January she was generous enough to gift patterns to several of her blog readers, and I was lucky enough to score a copy of Zest. Needless to say, I grabbed 6 skeins of Knit Picks Palette (100% Wool) in black within the coming weeks. And then they all sat in my stash. Finally, finally, finally, that sitting is over!

What my Zest Cardigan will hopefully look like, snagged from the ravelry page (link above)- I hope that’s OK, Jennifer!

I’ve decided to go up a size to the 38″ so that, hopefully, I’ll be able to make closures for the whole cardigan, not just the bust area. I don’t usually like how that style looks on me, so I’m going to try to do buttons all the way down the front. Just in case that makes it too big, I’m going to sub the seed stitch that goes between the fronts and the backs for ribbing to pull it in a little bit. Besides that, the only mod I’m making going into the pattern is to shorten the bottom of the sweater by about an inch- the finished measurements are just a little too long on me. (Btw- her measurements are fantastic. She has info for everything you could think about modifying, PLUS there is a different size every 2″. No more trying to decide between 3″ of positive ease or 1″ of negative!) Oh, and I had to go up a needle size- my swatch was just a tad too small, so now I’m using a size US 6 instead of US 5.

My progress. It’s as small and insignificant as it seems πŸ™‚

For now, though, I’m in seed stitch purgatory. It’s a seamless cardigan, but it’s worked from the bottom up. That means I have over 200 stitches in fingering weight for each row…ouch. Luckily, I’m almost done and should be able to start the lace soon! Unfortunately, I’m going away for most of next week, and we’re flying. I think I’m just going to bring along a much simpler pair of socks than tote around the whole sweater. And then, after that, I start my full-time summer internship. Basically, this sweater is probably going to be in the works for a while. But I’m still really excited about it (let’s see how long that lasts)!

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

