Mostly FO: Corona

Standard

Yesterday I did something that was pretty big for me: I went back and finished up a project that I had written off as dead. For some reason, just when I was doing the finishing work on my Corona Sweater, I decided that it just would not fit. I’m not sure what brought me to this decision, but when I unearthed it while I was unpacking my knitting, I decided that I needed to come to a decision. Either frog it and reclaim the yarn or finish it. Ok, then I decided to put off that decision. I decided that I would finish it AND THEN decide whether to keep it or frog it. And yesterday I did!

Sorry for the awkward mirror shot, but you can tell the fit much better on me!

All I had to do was sew up the seams on the sleeves and graft the underarm stitches together. It only took a couple of hours, and I had a finished sweater! To my surprise, it fits pretty well. Ok, it’s just a tad tighter than I would like, but you can’t tell how much it pulls across the chest if I wear a black camisole underneath it. And I would like it better if it had an extra inch, both on the sleeves and the body. But as it is, it is definitely wearable. Better yet, it is a work-appropriate sweater (with camisole), and I always need those!

cable detailing on the v-neck and collar

The original sweater had a hood, but I nixed that (maybe I thought it would pull too much on my yarn?), and followed someone else’s mods for making the collar go around. I feel really, really bad because I cannot remember who that is, and they had excellent instructions for how to modify the pattern. Besides that, I don’t THINK that I did any other mods…on purpose.

full on

For those of you who are wondering, I used Knit Picks Comfy Worsted (75% cotton, 25% acrylic) in the fedora colorway. None of the pictures here really do it justice- it’s a wonderful chocolate brown. My project page says that I bought 11 skeins, and I still have 3 left, so that is pretty good. My project page also says I made the XS, but I had enough stitches on my underarm grafts for the S, so something must have happened there. God, a year seems like forever in knitting time!

sleeve

And, ok, it’s not completely finished- I still have to sew in the ends. I’m going to leave that for a time when it is NOT 80 degrees outside, and I’m much closer to actually getting to wear it. For now, there are just too many ends for me to even think about when I’m not going to wear it soon 😉

Swirch Hat

OK, and one more shameless request for test-knitters. If anyone is interested in testing my Swirch Hat Pattern, please, please, please check out the page in the ravlery free pattern testers group. I would really appreciate it!

2 responses »

  1. The sweater looks very nice! And I will volunteer to test knit your cute hat, I completely understand the stress of getting testers…. wandering over to the page right now.

Leave a Reply

