FO Friday: Locke

Standard

It has been a long time coming, but I finally (FINALLY!) have a finished sweater to show you. Can I introduce you to my newest love, the Locke Cardigan? It’s taken several months (almost exactly 3, according to ravlery), but she is finally finished. Just in case you’ve forgotten, this is the Locke St. Cardigan from Glenna C’s Urban Collection make out of about 13.5 skeins of Knit Picks Swish DK (100% Superwash Wool).

Modeled shot! Boy, was that timer hard to work with. Maybe I should invest in a tripod?

Almost from the start, I knew this was a match made in heaven. I got gauge with the suggested needle size, and cast on right away. Of course, it was slow going. DK weight on US 6’s doesn’t exactly knit up quickly, and the pattern had you start with the sleeves, which are hardly the most exciting part of the pattern. Still, if I knit it again I would still do it that way. The cables are slightly simpler on the sleeves, so it felt like I was just dipping my feet into the crazy-ness before I jumped on to the fronts and back.

the front

But the slow going kept my attention for almost a whole semester, and this is what I got out of it. I did almost no modifications, although I did run into a couple of problems. I’m not sure what happened, but my sleeve caps were much smaller than the corresponding side on the fronts. Of course, I didn’t notice that until I was sewing them in (lesson to myself- always block both before AND after you sew), so I ended up having to unpick the BO on the sleeve caps and add a little more length. When I tried it on right after there was some strange puckering in the sleeves, but I paid special attention to that when I blocked it, and I think that mostly went away.

Can you see that puckering? No? That’s because of the MAGIC of BLOCKING!

The other problems that I had were probably mostly my fault. Usually, I like my sleeves a little bit long (I like the ends to brush the bottom of my thumb), so I didn’t really pay attention to sleeve length. Boy, was that NOT a good idea. Luckily, they are almost a perfect length when I fold the ribbing back on itself.  The other thing that I wish that I had changed has to do with the collar. The pattern suggests that, if you want a deeper collar, you should just add on extra short rows. I had PLENTY of yarn, and I considered doing it at the time, but I didn’t (maybe I was just ready to get the cardigan done with?). If I ever feel like it, I may pick out the last couple of rows and add some extra shaping on the collar…hmmm.

Close up on the cables on the back

But besides those little things, I freaking love this sweater. The cables are intricate and luscious, and it fits pretty well. It’s not so tight that I won’t wear it, but it’s not loose and baggy, either. Just the proper balance of ease! Of course, now that it’s almost June and 80 degrees outside, I’m going to have to put Locke away from a couple of months. Darn it.

buttons!

For more FO Fridays, check out Tami’s.

7 responses »

  1. Fantastic sweater, it looks like it fits you very well! I have never had much luck with capped sleeves fitting perfectly into their armhole – – I’ve always had to force them to fit.

  2. Awesome sweater. I grew up in Hamilton and have many fond memories of Locke Street. There’s a little wee restaurant called the Bar on Locke that has the best vegetarian suppers; Mom and i were regulars there!

  3. I really love that cardi. And before I got to the bit about making the collar larger, I was thinking to myself that the collar looked perfect.
    I think it is a knitting rule. You will finish an amazing sweater just in time for sweltering heat.

Leave a Reply

