Review: Interweave Knits Summer 2012

Standard

Ok, so I’ll admit it: I got the magazine well over a week ago. But at the time, I could only spare a couple of seconds to flip through it, and then I had to focus on studying. And then I had to pack everything up to move out of my dorm room in a couple of hours, which means that I have basically no idea where most of my stuff is. But I did find the newest mag!

First of all, can I start by saying that I don’t usually find very much to like in the spring and summer mags? I’m not very into light garments, but this one had some ideas that really caught my eye. It was a pleasant surprise.

Greta Headband

First, the sterotypical headband. Still, I like the detailing on this one, and if I ever have a reason to make a knitted headband, this will probably be it. The stitch pattern and gathered (twisted?) detail will probably keep it pretty interesting. It’s certainly a step up from a simple garter stitch band, which is what I’ve had to do in the past.

Sakura Tee

Can I say how pretty this is? I’m not sure that I’d actually make it- if it’s warm enough for me to go sleeveless, it’s probably too warm for what looks like worsted-weight yarn, even if it is lace made out of cotton. Plus, the sleeves would NEVER sit normally on me. But the front panel sure is pretty to look at.

Planche Vest, Pianissimo Mitts, and Coquette Vest

Now, I actually am considering making the Coquette Vest (right). It’s done out of much more practical lace-weight (although it might take FOREVER), and I think it might look pretty good with a t-shirt underneath it. It looks like it’s pretty fitted (and the description also talks about a “strong hourglass shape”), so it might be something that would work with my shape. This might be the one thing from this mag that I actually make (there’s usually at least one)…we’ll see.

Seaglass Shell

Like the Sakura Tee, I just had to show you this shell. I mean, I’d never wear it (I don’t know about most professional settings, but a lace back panel is a big no-no for teachers), but it sure is pretty to look at.

Popsicle Dress

The other garment I’m considering making is the Popsicle Dress. OK, I do think that knitted dresses are generally pretty stupid, but I really like this one. It could just be the colors, but it’s really catching my eye. And THIS is something that I could wear to work, especially with a little sweater and a couple extra inches on the hem.

Needle Guide

Moving away from patterns, my favorite feature (and the only one I actually read) was the Tools of the Trade segment, which this time focused on needles. While it did cover the basics (metal needles are more slippery, circulars are good for knitting in the round, etc.), it also went more in depth, especially when reviewing brands. I really appreciated the comparison of different types of interchangeables. It was nice to know that other people (or at least the reviewers) have problems with their joins becoming untwisted while knitting.

Well, that’s it for me now. I will definitely be back with a WIP Wed. post. It’s definitely going to be one of my designs, although I’m not sure which one. I guess we’ll just see!

8 responses »

  1. I agree with Karen, the needle review was very useful indeed. For me, while I liked the issue, nothing really captured my attention enough for me to buy this particular issue but overall it was good 🙂

  2. That Popsicle dress is great! It wouldn’t work for the hot hot summer where I live in AR, but it would transition well from spring and into fall.

  3. Great review! I have to admit, I usually shy away from Spring/Summer patterns too, but I love the dress and the lace back shell! I might have to keep an eye out for this mag.

  4. Pingback: More Free Knitted Stuff: Pay It Forward Returns « All She Wants To Do Is Knit

Leave a Reply

