Review: Slipped Stitch Studios Needle Nook

Standard

So, as promised, I’m reviewing my new Needle Nook from Slipped Stitch Studios. Before I start, I just wanted to say that I am in no way affiliated with Slipped Stitch Studios. I had to pay for my Needle Nook fair and square, including shipping! That said, it was pretty reasonably priced. $13.50 plus $3.25 came out to just under $17, and that shipping was really, really quick. I think it got across the entire country in three days!

Nook in Action.

Onto my description. You guys are going to have to forgive me, because I don’t know very much about sewing terminology, beyond the fact that this baby is really, really well constructed. You can’t see any of the seams, inside or outside, and there have to be several layers of fabric. My super-sharp US 1 DPN’s could even get through this fabric, and I’ve had them poke me through my heavy-duty LL Bean camping backback, my Vera Bradley quilted purse, and basically anything else I’ve tried to keep them in. There are three snaps on the inside, with two on one side and one on the other to accommodate for shorter DPN’s. I probably don’t need to, but I always end up using all three. They do make a very satisfying snap!

Inside and Out (love the polka dots!)

Slipped Stitch Studios does her products in a TON of different fabrics. It was a tough choice (second choices were a more abstract pattern and sock monkeys on pogo sticks), but I finally settled on the penguins wearing knitwear, which is just plain adorable. The inside lining makes a pretty contrast, and I really appreciate that detail. Also, I don’t even remember if it said this online, but she added a zipper in between the two layers to make a side pocket. Unfortunately, my zipper is a little broken, but it still works very well. Definitely not worth the trouble of returning it! The only thing I don’t like about the pocket is that it covers the whole nook, not just a certain area. The yarn needle that I slipped in there ended up in the opposite corner as the zipper, but I found it with a relatively quick feel around.

Broken Zipper. It’s usable, and the fabric covers it up so you can’t really tell unless you’re looking. I’ll live.

In the end, I would definitely recommend this product for those of you who make socks on DPN’s as often as I do. As long as I actually use this, I’m sure there will be no more accidental self-stabbings! The flaws in the design and definitely outweighed by the construction and attention to detail. At just under $17 after shipping, this thing is practically a steal!

Bubble Sock No 2!

And if you’re here for a progress report on my Bubble Socks, I’m about halfway through the foot of the second one. As long as nothing changes, they should be done by my next post. Or are those famous last words?

Leave a Reply

