Bubbleiscious

Standard

I bet you can’t guess what I’ve started now. Oh yeah, it’s another pair of socks. And I haven’t exactly *just* started them. In fact, I already have one sock completely finished. Here it is!

Finished Sock number 1

I think I talked about this pattern a couple of weeks ago in a blog week in review… I think. Anyway, I saw them SOMEWHERE and fell in love! For those of you just tuning in, they’re the Bubble Stream Socks, and they’re actually a free pattern, which is pretty cool, considering how original and awesome they are. I’m using some Candy Skein Yummy (15% Merino, 25% Nylon) in the Arctic Mint colorway, which was the January color of the month. It is gorgeous; it’s probably even brighter in person than in this picture, if you can even believe it.

Closer up on the stitch pattern

I am so, so, so in love with this pattern and the yarn. They go together much better than I could have hoped! I love how the first little mock cable bubble stretches across the foot to “eat” the rest of the pattern. It definitely made me want to keep going to decrease just one more knit, or one more purl, and I couldn’t just leave half of one bubble there, now could I?

Sock Number 2!

As for mods, there really aren’t that many. You may remember that I really, really prefer knitting my socks toe-up, but I just didn’t have the energy to convert this pattern. I didn’t want to lose the cool foot, and my brain is just way too all over the place to create some nifty solution. Instead, I bit the bullet and followed the pattern.

Ok, so I didn’t follow the pattern completely. I just got rid of the whole contrasting color. Unfortunately, I didn’t read the pattern well enough and accidently forgot to convert the k1 rib to a “alternate k and p every other row” like the pattern calls for. Still, I think the rib makes them a little more elastic on my leg, which is probably a good thing. I also made them anklets instead of tall socks, as I am want to do. I do wish I had made them just a bit taller, though. Oh well, ย I guess that means I can probably get another pair out of this fantastic yarn!

What am I???

Some of you might be asking “what are those adorable penguins doing in that picture?” This is a dpn holder from Slipped Stitch Studios! From now on, it’ll probably just be called Penguins. It’s really perfect for socks. I definitely promise to do a bigger review eventually, but, for now, please go check out her etsy shop. She has a bunch of knitting-related bags and tools, and, if they’re anything like mine, they’ll be great and adorable!

5 responses »

  1. Those are gorgeous! I love that bright color. I do like them more in the single color than with contrasting bits, like I did mine. ๐Ÿ™‚

    What kind of cast on did you use?

Leave a Reply

