1 Week of Blogging all Rolled Up into One Post

Standard

This past week has been killer. That’s not to say that I haven’t been knitting- oh no, there’s been knitting. But it’s been more of the ‘frantic stockinette to soothe my nerves’ than the ‘look, pretty! let’s take a second to stop and show the blog.’ That would be why there have been no posts. Still, today, I have a bunch of stuff to make up for the madness. The procrastination has taken hold! First, I’ll show off my finished Scrappy Socks. For those of you just turning in, I made these socks entirely out of leftover sock yarn that’s been chilling in my stash. Green! Eco-Friendly! Yeah!

Sock numero dos: completed yesterday morning-ish.

They don’t fit extremely well, which is a tad bit disappointing. I would have thought that I have my perfect sock recipe down by now, but I’m blaming it on the slightly different gauges of the fingering sock yarn. The light green is spud and chloe sock. Let me say, that stuff is like super-sock-yarn, which is why I chose it for the heel. The silk content + the way it is spun (magic?) + the slightly thicker than normal yarn= a pretty hard wearing sock. It might be a little baggy, but I’m perfectly happy with it.

Can you spot the difference?

Well, CAN you see it? I ended up switching the yarn for the toe on the second sock. The first one was the knit picks sock yarn that I just have lying around for contrasting/coordinating toes and heels. By the time I finished that sock, though, I knew that I would have a TON of the bluish yarn left. That’s Knit One, Crochet Too something or other, and it’s a pleasure to work with. I seem to remember that there is some silk in there (maybe?), so it just flows through your fingers like…silk. Anyway, I still have about 15g left of it, so it will probably make some very nice toes in the future, too. And one final picture, just for your pleasure…

Posing!

Of course, no weekend is complete without a blog week in review. We’ve got some good ones! First, Minding My Own Stitches finished her Santa Fe socks. Normally, I wouldn’t get so excited about a seemingly simple pair of socks, but I just wanted to honor her perseverance with the colorwork. Her first try came out WAY TOO TIGHT, but did she send them to the frog pile of shame? No, she kept at it. And that’s much more than I’ve ever done for colorwork.

Next, Gynx’s Aphrodite 2.0 is really, really cool. And when I say cool, I don’t mean cool construction, or cool technique, or cool yarn (even though it is all of those things). It just looks like something that someone much cooler than me would wear. And this is also a re-boot of a previous project, too!

Knitting Sandwich, always one of my favs, made a baby sweater…knit on the bias. Oh yeah, it’s like the baby is wearing a v-neck, except it’s just really clever construction!

While Don’t Drool on the Wool’s red cabled cropped pullover is not something that I would personally wear, it certainly has style. And cables. Oh, the cables.

Erin-Kate’s slouchy beret-style hat is entirely her own invention, and very, very unique. Instead of ribbing, she added holes to thread a ribbon through on the pattern. From the pictures, it looks like the cloud slouch sits pretty well on the head, too. No more slouchy hats falling off at odd times!

Finally, Knitted Bliss’s Alluvial Cowl is squooshy and cabley and cozy and everything right in the world. Trust me, you have to see this baby.

As per usual, if you’re doing a blog week in review (someone join me, please!), don’t forget to click the linky above and add your blog. And if you’re looking for some more blogs to read, check to see who else has joined! Thanks for stopping by, guys, and hopefully I’ll be able to talk to you soon!

5 responses »

  1. Those socks are so cool! I’m sorry they aren’t quite as snug as you would like. Have you considered making them a bit damp and throwing them in the dryer? I find that helps my knits (at least the superwash kind) to shrink up a touch.

    • Well, they’ll probably get machine washed eventually, even if it is only by accident 😉 But with all of the different yarns, I’m afraid that it might come out really uneven and just ruin the socks. When it happens, I’ll make sure to blog about it!

  2. Pingback: and the winner is… | the knit cafe

Leave a Reply

