FO Friday: 1 Week Socks

Standard

I think I’ve decided to rename my newest pair of socks. 1 Week Socks sounds a whole lot better, and I’m so proud of the fact that they only took me a week to finish, even with all of other stuff I had to do.

1+1=a pair of socks in less than a week!

For those of you just tuning in, I made this dead-simple pair of stockinette anklets using my usual toe-up slip stitch heel model and some leftover yarn. It was about 45g of Twilight Knits Superwash Merino in the Duchess colorway, but now there’s less than a yard left! Woo for the stashbusting! The colorway is amazingly bright: I don’t know if I could ever use it to make something that people would actually see, but it works well for the simple stockinette of a pair of socks. Unfortunately, judging by how my other pair has worn, the colors won’t be so bright for very long. Of course, that could be the fact that I loved that pair so often that they got A LOT of wear, and a lot of washing.

tip-toe

The anklet length is a little shorter than I would like. If I could go back, I would at least do the toes or heels in a contrasting color so I could get enough length that they would go above the edge of my tennis shoes. Still, they work perfectly well, and I’d probably not change them from anything!

For more FO Fridays, don’t forget to check out Tami’s.

Anklet!

In other news, there’s a new episode of Game of Thrones this weekend! I’m so excited. After last season I actually geeked out and read all of the books. There is something so satisfying about reading a well-written 800+pg. fantasy novel, much less a whole series of them. Unfortunately, the author does have the tendency to kill off all of my favorite characters 😦 I can’t wait to see what they do with the second book on the TV show- I’m sure it will be awesome!

4 responses »

  1. Oh how I love your socks. I plan on making some short socks like these when I get some more yarn. I’m watching Game of Thrones on TV right now and really enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

