Dunkelipa pt. 1

Standard

So, instead of casting on the back for my Locke St. Cardigan, I did something…else. I cast on for the Dunkelipa Hat. If you remember, I was considering this for a while, but I really didn’t think I had anything suitable in my stash. Well, I might have been wrong about that. I found about 70g of Plymouth Yarn Galway Highland Heather (discontinued- 100% wool) lying around leftover from my Rocky Coast Cardigan.  It’s a little bit less than the pattern requirements, but I think it will be fine. I don’t really have any red hats, and it might go well with the Blue North Face Fleece that I wear pretty continuously in the winter. And so, I cast on.

Garter

The pattern is actually pretty interesting. You start by knitting about 2 inches of garter stitch flat for a sort of split brim. I’m not quite sure how I’ll style the finished product, but Becky usually seems to fold one side up, giving it a rather jaunty look that I think I might like.

Flipped up?

So after you finish the garter brim, you join into a circle and begin the stitch pattern, which uses double purl stitches to make diamonds. When I first started I had a little bit of trouble keeping the pattern in my head, especially around the end of the row. I forgot to grab a stitch marker to mark the edge…bad me!

Double Purl Diamond Stitch Pattern

Still, I think I’ve got it pretty down in my head, and I’ve been chugging away pretty quickly. You only have to do a little less then three repeats before you start the decrease stitches, which is not much at all when you think about the fact that the repeat is only 12 rows (I think?). The pattern also comes in a couple sizes, ranging from kids to an adult large suitable for a guy. I’m thinking a Christmas present for my dad, although I don’t really know how well the brim would go over. Oh well, we’ll see 😉

Where I am as of this morning...

For more WIP Wed., don’t forget to check out Tami’s!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

