Winner Winner, Chicken Dinner

Standard

A couple of weeks ago I won a blog contest! The lovely autumngeisha was generously giving away her doubles to two items: Knitting it Old School by Stitchy McYarnpants and Caro Sheridan and “KnitScene” Winter 2011. Thanks to her wonderful generosity, I have two new knitting books to add to my shelf! First, I thought I would review the copy of KnitScene.

KnitScene and Knitting it Old School

Although there are a few patterns that I really like, there’s not much in here I would knit. These, for instance. Really pretty on the page, but not quite worth my time to knit…mainly because I would probably never wear them!

Nora Dress

Tereza Pullover

Uxbridge Cardigan

I do, however, like the Francisca Hat by Amanda Scheuzger. It’s got a nice amount of slouch, and would probably make a great Christmas present…for someone. I will definitely add it to the list and keep an eye out for some suitably drapey yarn!

Francisca Hat

Can I just say, though, that what really made this mag worth it for me are the articles? First, the history geek in me rejoiced for the one about the history of Angora Bunnies. Did you know that rabbits really only native to Spain, and that their diversification is really due to traders? Plus, it comes complete with a map, which really made me happy!

Maps!

And then, of course, I really loved the article on drape from Stefanie Japel. When I first started really knitting, Japel’s Fitted Knits was one of the first books that I bought, so I really trust that she knows what she is talking about. It was really informative to me, especially as a budding designer!

Drapey-ness

Stay tuned in the next couple of days for a review of Knitting it Old School, plus my progress on a little distracting project AND the Locke Cardigan.

One response »

Leave a Reply

