Finished Object: Baby Blanket (for real, this time!)

Standard

full size

So it’s finally really, truly finished. Here I have the Baby Chalice Blanket made with Plymouth Encore Worsted (75% acrylic, 25% wool) for washability. The direct sun really washed the color out in the pictures; it’s actually more yellowy. I would say a couple of shades lighter than butter!

detail numero uno

I really like how it came out, although I wish I had blocked it a little harder. The size is perfect- bigger than the 2 feet by 3 feet that I had hoped for. Still, the lace is just a wee bit more dimpled than I wanted. I actually ran out of room on my blocking squares to stretch it, and was just not in the mood to do lace on the floor. Oh well, it’s still pretty awesome. Are there cards to do with baby gifts? I guess I need to find one to go with the blanket, because I really, really need to get rid of it. Hallmark store, here I come!

detail numero dos

For your Locke update, I’m chugging along on my second sleeve. I’ve got about six inches finished. I went up to observe at my student teaching school yesterday (for the whole day- now I’ve got more than half of my mandated 20 hours this semester finished!), so I really didn’t have much time to get a whole lot finished. I’m not quite at the point where I can knit while observing 😉 On the other hand, I’ve found a new show on netflix to knit during. It’s called Trinity. A reviewer described it as Torchwood (British science fiction) meets Gossip Girl (American soap opera-ish drama at it’s worst), and I pretty much agree, although I would warn you that it’s a British show, which means it would probably need some editing before it could even air on HBO here in the states. Still, if that’s your cup of tea, I highly recommend it!

3 responses »

  1. Your baby blanket will sure to be an heirloom– simply classic and gorgeous. Thanks for the Netflix recommendation. I pretty love anything British (including my husband!).

Leave a Reply

