Locke St. Cardigan pt. 1

Standard

So how did you like that quick succession of designs? I hope you guys go try some out. Remember, the Kaylee hat will only be free until the end of the week, although the Twist and Slouch hat will be free forever!

So what have I been working on in the mean time? Well, there’s a secret project that I can’t really tell you about, so I’ll show you something else…

Swatchy...and I actually washed and blocked it BEFORE I measured!

That’s my swatch. What is it for? Well, it’s the Locke St. Cardigan. Knitting to Stay Sane put this pattern out a couple of weeks ago, and judging by the fact that I keep going back to the ravelry page and staring at it, I think it’s a keeper!

a nice, heathered dark green. I don't think it's too dark to see all of the nice detailing, though.

I grabbed 15 skeins of Swish DK in Forest Heather from Knit Picks, and it came in really, really quickly. They were having a sale on the bags of 10 skeins, so I had to grab one of those and then get 5 separate. I probably should have just sprung out a couple more dollars for a whole nother bag. I would have most definitely used it the extra at some point, and then my yarn would all be from the same dye lot. Although the numbers are very different, I haven’t been able to tell the difference, so hopefully you won’t be able on the finished cardigan, either. In the end, I’m pretty happy with my yarn choice. Even though the Swish is superwash wool, you wouldn’t know it with the feel. It’s very soft, and I’m pretty happy with that!

sleeve! Sorry it's upside down, the light was...backwards

While the pattern for the Cardigan is…long…I printed it all off. That way, it’s much easier to knit while watching TV on my computer. It is definitely a very complicated pattern, so I’m very glad that I did. Luckily, she starts with the sleeves. I think that’s a pretty good idea- it’s like dipping your toe into the shallow end of the pool! Plus, I won’t have that time when I feel like I’m almost finished with the sweater and then end up astounded that it takes so long to do the sleeves.

I don’t envision this pattern going very quickly. Between the crazy cableing and DK yarn it will definitely be a long-term project. That might be what I need right now. I have been stress-knitting a lot, so I need something that I won’t burn through very quickly. Hopefully, though, I’ll have some progress to show you this Wed. It might be a quick post- although the stress is high, the time for knitting and posting is not. Sorry!

Technically, the colorway is moonlight or something like that. I think I'm changing the name to Birthday Party!

And, by the way, I wanted to show you the other thing that came from Knit Picks. I grabbed a skein of self-striping Felici Sock Yarn. It’s surprisingly soft, and I’ve been coveting other people’s striped socks for a while. I bet this is gonna make a fantastic pair…eventually!

4 responses »

  1. Oooh! pretty yarn!! The Locke St. Cardigan does look good – enjoy knitting it! Have you noticed that patterns have got really long now? I think it’s because designers seem to think that everyone has an e-reader now. It’s a bit expensive on the printing ink, I have to say!

    • I am really lucky with the printer ink; when I graduated high school, I asked for a laser printer as one of my gifts. Although the ink is REALLY expensive ($70, at the very least), it almost never runs out. As in, I’ve only replaced it once in three years, and that was the sample cartridge that never lasts as long!
      My only problem with the really long patterns is that I have to constantly flip back and forth between the page with the charts and the page with the instructions. At least I did 2 on a page, so the stitch descriptions and the charts are on the same page!

  2. That is a gorgeous cardigan pattern and will look lovely in green. Also, I wanted to let you know that you are the winner of my book giveaway! Just need to get your mailing address…my ravelry username is autumngeisha. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

