Chalice Baby Blanket

Standard

As I mentioned in my last post, I finally got the chance to cast on the Chalice Baby Blanket now that I’m finished with the knitting portion of my sweater. The pattern calls for a worsted weight yarn and size US 10 needles, I guess to open up the lace. Of course, I didn’t want to do that. I mean, why would I possibly want to do what a pattern asked of me? I wanted something somewhat denser to really keep that child warm, so I compromised with a US 9 needle. Of course, when I then CO the required number of stitches it looked way too small. Well, it looked too small and my tail was really, really long and I wanted to use it up. After searching through the pattern for a while (in 2 different pdfs- one for the written pattern and one for the chart- it didn’t come out and say how long the stitch repeat was) I ended up with 103 stitches for an extra 2 repeats. If I could go back, I would probably add another ten or twenty stitches. After all, I have four skeins of yarn…

it's so big! Sorry for the bad pictures, it's pretty overcast outside...

As you can probably tell, this pattern is pretty addictive. The relatively simple lace is really, really easy to memorize line by line and I’ve been keeping the pdf cropped into the corner of my screen for easy access. I finished my first skein of yarn after about 24 hours- which may be a record for me. So far, I’m about 20 inches into the pattern. As, after stretching the knit (lace!), the lace portion of the body is about 24 inches long, I’m thinking I’ll go at least until it’s 36 inches tall. I know this won’t be a traditional square, but I really, really want to use up this yarn. I mean, what else will I do with a light yellow acrylic blend? Hopefully, I’ll have leftovers for a baby hat or something really small and that’s it.

oh delightfully pimply un-blocked lace, how I've missed you!

It’s been a while since I’ve done any real lace- for some reason, I’ve been on a big cabling kick recently. Well, it really feels like DESIGNERS are on the big cable kick, and I just keep seeing some scrumptuous cables that I really, really want. In fact, I may or may not be putting in a big order soon…I’ve been stalking the wonderfully cabled Locke St. Cardigan, which is in the new Urban Collection by one of my favorite bloggers: the Crazy Knitting Lady. It’s knit in DK yarn, which I’m having trouble finding for what I’m willing to pay. Webs has some relatively cheap 100% wool (Legacy O-Wool DK) that I’ve been thinking about, and the Swish DK from Knit Picks is slightly cheaper, plus free shipping! I don’t usually like superwash yarns…has anyone ever knit with Swish? Is it soft, or does it have that superwash feel? Oh, decisions!

2 responses »

  1. I have knit a number of things with Swish and didn’t find that it had any particular feel except soft. But I have never detected that superwash feel that others have, so what do I know?

    I would highly recommend Valley Yarn Superwash DK (link below). I used it for a sweater for myself, a toddler sweater, and several hats. (Maybe you can search for my projects in Ravelry — I’m kmkat there too.) It washes like a dream, no special care needed, and I found it very very pleasant to work with. It comes in a fairly wide range of colors and has a lot of spring; there’s a technical term for that last which escapes me right now.
    http://www.yarn.com/index.cfm/fuseaction/product.detail/categoryID/3DE2C30C-6D95-43DD-8AB5-B8DB265D6674/productID/986613CD-943A-4B08-B5BA-6B6C1EABDA2B/

Leave a Reply

