Still working on the Cardigan…

Standard

Rocky Coast Cardigan Body

As my title may suggest, I’m still working on the Rocky Coast Cardigan. After getting to the end of the pattern in the center part of the cardigan (it’s a top-down, seamless raglan) I decided to just put my stitches on hold before I started the ribbing. Remember, I’m doing the ribbing in a contrasting color, and I want to make sure I have enough of that for all of the ribbing and the shawl collar/button band thingy. Luckily, I was using my Knit Picks interchangeable needs, so putting all of those stitches on a holder was pretty easy. All I had to do was unscrew my needles and put the little stoppers on in their place.

Yeah, that's a sleeve.

Next, I put my needles on an extra cable and picked up my stitches off of waste yarn for the sleeve. I’m a little concerned about how narrow the sleeves are- my arms have their fair share of flab. I’ll probably try it on after I finish this one and see how it fits. Hopefully, it’ll be just fine. Still, I’m really enamored with this sweater, so I hope I won’t be afraid to rip! I’m doing the sleeve in the round, but I kind of wish I was working it flat. I’m using magic loop instead of DPN’s (DPN’s sometimes give me tighter gauge) and it is kind of making me knit slower 😦 Still, I’ve got a movie for the afternoon plus a Super Bowl Party, so hopefully it won’t take me too long.

Plymouth Encore Worsted

And finally, I have a yarn shop purchase from A WEEK AGO that I have yet to tell you about. One of my favorite Professors announced that his wife is pregnant and due in a little less than two months. Of course, this means I’m making a blanket! I always loved the baby blanket my grandmother knitted me, so I hope this kid has the same experience I did. I picked up 4 skeins of Plymouth Encore Worsted in a pale (unisex!) yellow. I figure the heavy acrylic content means easy washing, and won’t the wool keep it from bursting into flames? Right now, I’m leaning towards making a Chalice Blanket. I’m kind of feeling some light lace, so hopefully it will be a pretty enjoyable pattern. Hopefully, I’ll have enough time to make it after I finish the Cardigan.

Baby Chalice Blanket. Picture sniped from ravelry; please don't sue. I have no money...

While I was at Knitting Sisters I, of course, had to pick up a little something for myself. I just grabbed a skein of Malabrigo Merino Worsted in the colorway Polar Morn, a lightish grey. The malabrigo was hiding underneath a bunch of cubbies of Manos, otherwise I probably would have sniffed it out earlier. The only malabrigo I have ever worked with was Sock. Although I loved that, I’m really excited to try out a yarn that has such a good reputation. I’m thinking that I might go with a scarf or cowl. I haven’t made something to go around my neck this year, and the grey would match my favorite jacket…

Malabrigo Merino Worsted in Polar Morn

That’s all the news from here. Next post, I’ll announce the winners of the contest, so keep your eyes open for that (or if you’d like to enter, check out the post and take a guess!). I’ll also probably have some book reviews to keep you from languishing from the boredom of watching me slowly, slowly work my way through the Cardigan.

3 responses »

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t see the pattern notes earlier! Someone had suggested just picking up extra stitches around the existing arm holes so that the entire sleeve isn’t too tight. And I personally didn’t do any sleeve decreases until the round before the cuff. The exact details are on my rav project page.

    • I think that’s what I’m going to do: pick up 7 or 8 stitches instead of 4, not do decreases, and make the sleeve longer so that if I have to block it hard width-wise it can compensate length-wise…I think…

  2. I’m keen to see how your cardigan turns out. I just ordered Coastal Knits from Knit Picks last week (40% off woo hoo!). I’ve also recently started the Chalice Blanket using Cascade Eco Duo. So far I’m really enjoying it (I’m trying to keep myself going by watching the chart through the lace side and then reading blogs during the purl side ; ) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

