A Tale of Less than 10% of a Mitten

Standard

So yesterday I decided to bite the bullet and start on my Bobsled Mittens, using some Knit Picks City Tweed Heavy Weight that I got in the  mail last week. Now, in case you haven’t noticed, I’m a little stressed. I have two patterns that are currently being test knit, so I’m obsessively stalking their ravelry forums and my messages. Couple that with the fact that this semester I’m starting education classes in a building that isn’t EXACTLY in walking distance (and there’s no parking near me) and I’m getting my student teaching contact soon…and you get a pretty stressed me. Still, this didn’t stop me from attempting to knit these mittens.

Brownish and tweedy...

Warning sign number one that this is a complicated knit that NEEDS YOUR ATTENTION should have been the fact that the sizing of the mittens is based on guage, not on, you know, stitches. This should have told me that the four pages of instructions were all for one size and, therefore, were fairly extensive.

Warning sign number two should have come when the pattern called for you to cast on almost 200 stitches using Judy’s Magic Cast On. Number three was when it took me three tries to get the correct number. (Well, at least I can to a mean Judy’s Magic Cast On.)

Warning sign number four was when I just gave the long cable (magic looping…insanity) a gentle tug and then suddenly I couldn’t get any more stitches to move.

Still, I ignored ALL of these signs. But, when after well over an hour of knitting all I had to show was this:

It isn't even ordered chaos...it's just chaos.

well, that was the last staw. You see, somewhere in the knitting I had disrupted all of my loops, and the mitten looked nothing like the organized line drawing. In fact, despite the fact that I had the correct number of stitches, all it resembled was a tangled mess. After that hour, all I wanted to do was take a double dose of excedrin and crawl under my covers while I waited for the caffeine to kick in (did you know that excedrin has about the same amount of caffeine as a cup of coffee? It does, and it WORKS. Just, you know, don’t take excedrin and drink coffee. That’s where the problem happened). I pulled out my needles, snipped the yarn working as a stitch holder, and just frogged everything. Eventually, when I have the time and energy to really do these mittens, I will. I promise. It’s still a goal, and I swear it will happen.

I know it doesn't look like it, but THAT is order.

In the mean time, I swatched. It’s going to be amazing; I can feel it. I also picked up a bunch of knitting books from the library. Be prepared for a BUNCH of reviews. Now, I’m going to run across the street and take advantage of the $1 coffee at wawa before my 3:30 class. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

