What’s going on in my knitting world…

Standard

Usually, I’m (gasp!) a pretty monogamous knitter. Maybe it’s my attention span- if I don’t love a project enough to work on it right away, I probably don’t love it enough to come back and knit it. After about a month, I generally have to admit that any project that I haven’t worked on is probably never getting finished. Usually, I’m OK with that. At this point, though, I have a bunch of different things happening in my life and my knitting, but that doesn’t mean I love any of them any less.

Freedom! And finally a sunny day to take somewhat good pictures.

First, the hat out of Freedom Spirit. I was kind of winging the pattern. I felt like plain stockinette would get the best effect out of the pretty busy yarn, and I was right. It looks self-striping and awesome. Still, I have a couple of grams of yarn left, so I’m probably going to rip out the decreases, add a couple of rows, and then re-knit them. Of course, this is going on the backburner until I can get some of my other WIP’s finished.

Mostly, mostly finished.

Second, we have the design for Knit Picks Independent Designer Program. It’s coming along really well, but, as I’m pretty much writing the pattern as I go, it’s taking longer than I’d like. I’m just using Wool of the Andes Sport (100% Wool) in Sagebrush, so the yarn is just a simple, satisfying wool with no fancy-ness. It’ll really show off the stitch pattern well, and I’m excited to get some test-knitters on it to see how it’ll look in different sizes. I’m thinking I’ll range it from baby to adult, because it would be really, really cute on some adorable children!

Although I’m not knitting anything else, there’s a bunch of other things taking up attention that COULD be spent on knitting. One of my design projects is in the test-knitting stage now. All of my testers are being SUPER understanding around my struggles. See, the stitch pattern is extremely intuitive, but not, as it turns out, very easy to write. I think, after three or four different versions of the pattern, I’ve found a way of presenting the decreases, which continue the stitch pattern, a lot more easily. Still, it’s taken time and a whole lot of effort to get here. Hopefully, this will be shown in the finished pattern.

And then, of course, there’s all the projects that I’ve planned to do with my new yarn delivery. After these two hats are finished I’m FORCING myself to work on the mittens. It’s getting pretty cold here, and stuffing my hands in my pockets while I wait for the bus or walk from the far reaches of campus isn’t going to cut it anymore. The sweater-making urge that’s been taking over me in the wake of finishing Livingstone will just have to wait. And I think I might get a chance to hit the yarn store this weekend…

4 responses »

  1. The design for KP is excellent — I have never seen a hat like it, but it seems so self-evident once presented. Why has no one designed this hat before? To me, that is one of the hallmarks of a potentially classic design. If they do not recognize that, i.e., agree with ME, they are idiots 😉

Leave a Reply

