And it came!

Standard

The package from Knit Picks came in yesterday afternoon. There is so much to talk about! First, there are needles…

US6's- I've already used one to replace my broken one!

This is a new pair of US6 interchangeables. They’re replacing my old pair, which came with my sampler. For some reason one of the 6’s won’t screw all of the way on. They’re usable, but the stitches sometimes get stuck and the fabric will bunch up if I don’t pay attention. This will make working on 6’s much less painless!

honestly, who could resist this photography?

Next comes the book. I added Coastal Knits to the cart, and I am so glad that I did. Of course, I had seen bloggers gushing about it all over the place when it first came out a couple of months ago. In case you haven’t heard of it, Coastal Knits is the brainchild of Hannah Fettig and Alana Dakos (each from a different coast…get it?). I fell in love with the Rocky Coast Cardigan and added the book to the list of things that I must get. Looking through it, I am so glad that I did. Each pattern comes with gorgeous information about the location that inspired it (and that the photography is from), plus it includes some great information on the authors and their favorite indy dyers/yarn producers. It’s such a stunning book, and that’s before I even mention the patterns.

I love how the locations match the patterns.

I know for sure that I plan on making the Rocky Coast Cardigan with the Plymouth Galway Highland Heather that I frogged from my old Garter Yoke Cardigan, but I think I’m going to have to add the Tangled Yoke Cardigan to the list of prospective sweaters. It’s hard not to fall in love with a pattern when it is so beautifully presented. I also love the  Rustling Leaves Beret…add that to the queue, too!

yarn to the left, design to the right...any ideas what it is?

Now, to the yarn. This Wool of the Andes Sport (100% Wool) actually came separately. I submitted a pattern proposal to the Knit Picks Independent Designer Program and they chose to take it! Instead of financial compensation (that comes when someone buys the pattern, just like when you sell on ravelry), they provide you with yarn support. I’m buzzing away on the sample, and after the pattern is written I will be looking for some test knitters!

sweater!

Next, I have 6 skeins of Palette in Black. I’ve been goggling the Zest Cardigan ever since I won a copy of the pattern from the author, Fern. It’s wonderfully lacy and open, and I bet it will be a great transitional sweater for the Spring. And I don’t have a black sweater, yet, which is SUCH a problem. Black goes with everything, after all!

it's just a wee bit lighter than it seems- sorry, it's way too rainy and gross for a good picture!

Finally, there’s one skein of City Tweed Heavy Weight (although it’s a worsted weight yarn…) for my Bobsled Mittens from Beyond Toes. I am in pretty desperate need of a new pair of mittens, and I’m excited to try out this new blend (55% Merino, 25% Alpaca, 20% Acrylic). Hopefully they’ll be snuggly warm! The pattern is pretty interesting- it almost looks as if it is knit on the bias. The solid colorway should highlight that, and the tweed will add just a bit of interest without distracting from the awesome design.

Basically, I’m so excited that the package came in because now I have everything I need for almost all of the projects that I’ve been eyeing for the rest of the winter. Of course, classes have started so the knitting will probably slow. Still, I’ve been craving another cardigan on the needles ever since I finished Livingstone, and hopefully I’ll have one!

Leave a Reply

