Parade of Finished Objects Part 1: Edge of Lace Hat and Dishcloth

Standard

I vaguely remember talking about this pattern a couple of times last week, and then forgetting about it after I laid it out to block. Well, this is the Edge of Lace Hat, from 101 Designer One Skein Wonders. I made it using Patons Classic Wool– a hardy, 100% no-frills wool, in an electric green. Hey, I’m pretty short. I need to set myself apart from the crowd.

sorry for the crazy eyes...I was concentrating on the camera screen. I swear!

I ended up making a bunch of mods. The accidental one was that I forgot the garter stitch band…which doesn’t seem to have changed the hat at all. In fact I kind of like it. I also did away with the whole ‘just 3 needle BO your stitches, it’ll be fine’ thing that the pattern called for and improvised a standard twisty crown decrease. I made sure to write down exactly what I did on my ravelry project page, in case anyone is interested.

it puckers a little off, but fits REALLY well on

I also went in a different direction for my weekend knitting. Because I was trying/anticipating/vaguely thinking about packing some of my stash up for transport, I didn’t really want to start on a big project. Plus, I’m waiting for a shipment from Knit Picks, and I can’t wait to get started on what will be in there. Still, I needed something for to keep my hands busy while watching TV (NBC Comedy is BACK!!!!). My first thought was a quick hat, but the skein I immediately went for- Freedom Spirit in a marled (is that even the right word?) light blue- is DK. In keeping with my new year’s resolution, I wanted a pattern that would come from a source that I already own. A ravelry pattern search for DK hat patterns from my library (love that function) showed me the perfect pattern- the Spoked Hat from Interweave Knits Winter 2010. Of course, the magazine is sitting on my shelf at school…of course.

it doesn't lay flat...is it supposed to?

To tide me over until I can get my hands on that pattern, decided to knock out a dishcloth. Let me tell you, I am not a huge cotton fan. In fact, I pretty much hate cotton. Why won’t it stretch???? Still, I noticed that Tink over on Master of a Thousand Things had made some dishcloths, and I guiltily thought of that violet cotton that was way WAY in the back of my stash. Thus, a Grandmother’s Favorite dishcloth was formed. Maybe if I start using it I MIGHT make another one, just to, you know, use up the yarn. It’s not like it was addictively quick to knit or anything, right?

Leave a Reply

