What I’m working on…now

Standard

So, as I showed off in the last post, my big project, the Livingstone Cardigan, is sitting on my floor blocking. Wet blocking and chunky wool will take another day or two to finish drying, so in the mean time I’m not giving much thought to it. Well, I am worrying about my yardage. It would literally take a miracle for me to finish this cardigan without buying another skein of wool. And because I’m using Cascade Eco, which comes in 250g skeins, I really would like to avoid that…The yarn is widely available, and I know my LYS here (I’m at home, not at school) has it, but I don’t remember ever seeing it at the LYS up there. Hopefully, I’ll know FOR ABSOLUTELY SURE that I need another skein BEFORE I go back…this coming weekend.

mostly finished hat

While I was waiting for the blocking to finish, I decided to cast on another hat. In keeping with my resolution to knit more from sources (books, mags, etc.) that I already own, I picked up the Edge of Lace Hat from 101 Designer One Skein Wonders. Of course, I had to make it with my own twist. Part of that twist is that I *forgot* (sheepish) to do the little garter stitch border that goes around the lace portion. Woops. I didn’t notice that until it was already on the floor, wet blocking next to the sweater, so that’s just plain out the window. The pattern also told you to just stop knitting and do a 3 needle BO instead of a crown, which I was not about to do. I made up some decreases that seem like they turned out OK. It fit my head, at least! You can check out my ravelry project page for the exact decrease pattern I used, it was pretty simple.

just a wee bit left

All in all, this hat was a pretty great stash-buster. It used just a wee bit less than the 45g of Paton’s Classic Wool that I had left over from my Nantes hat. I don’t think that I’ll keep it for myself, but I’m trying to start a drawer of knits that can be used for gifts if I *forget* about another occasion, so I think I’ll just drop it in there after it gets off the floor and I get some actual beautiful pictures.

about an inch of ribbing, and the color is pretty true! now if I could just have remembered to lean back so that my shadow didn't show so much...

Speaking of beautiful pictures, I wish I had a FO SO BADLY today because it’s the first day in a while that it is bright and sunny and beautiful outside. Instead, all I have is this picture of some ribbing. It’s going to be the brim of a new hat design that I’m working on. I know that it’s going to be a slouchy hat knit using some Cascade Alpaca Lana D’Oro (50% Alpaca, 50% Wool) that I picked up at my LYS a couple of weeks ago. Still, about every five minutes I change my mind about the stitch pattern. I’m pretty sure that I want there to be some sort of twisting/traveling stitches (tentative title- ‘Twist and Slouch’), but I can’t decide how many. Plus, I have swatches from two other options blocking on my floor. The top part has a garter stitch background, but the bottom is only reverse stockinette. I like how the stitches in the garter pop so much, but I think the reverse stockinette has a simplicity that’s also charming. Any ideas?

top=garter, bottom=reverse stockinette. thoughts?

2 responses »

  1. I think the missing stitches don’t matter – it actually looks better than the original without it. I wonder if the garter stitches helps keep the hat on better though.

Leave a Reply

