A Year in Knitting Review, Part 3

Standard

To make up for missing a day earlier in the week, I thought I would finish up my knitting review today! To round it all out, I wanted to show off my four designs, which all came out towards the end of this year.

Slightly Skewed Hat

First to come out was the Slightly Skewed Hat and Scarf Set. This pattern originated from a gift of 2 skins of Araucania Panguipulli. The aran yarn was totally unique, especially in respect to the variegated color, and I couldn’t quite find a pattern that would show it off perfectly…at least not one that would use up my two skeins. The Slightly Skewed patterns use a chevron stitch to break up the monotony and add a little texture. The hat is uniquely knitted as a flat strip, the ends are sewn together, and stitches are picked up from the top for the crown. If you’re intrigued by trying a new hat construction or are looking for a way to use up some unique yarn, I highly suggest trying Slightly Skewed out! It’s available for purchase on ravelry for $2.50, and you can buy it now here.

Top-Down Hat made from about 1/2 of a 50g skein of Valley Yarns Stockbridge, and another 1/2 of a 50g skein of Cascade Dolce

My next pattern to come out was the Top-Down Hat Recipe. I trying to make a last-minute Christmas present for some friends at school before I finished up my semester, and came up with this. The novelty is that I was able to use up yarn leftovers with minimal ripping- no worries about estimating how much yarn you’ll need to finish your decreases here! You can basically sub any worsted or aran weight yarns, and the pattern itself is infinitely customizable. You can download the pdf for free here.

Happy Feet on the left, Frog Tree Alpaca on the right

Next, we have the sentimental project. I designed the Flying Home Scarf for my mother’s Hanukah present. Another perpetually free pattern, Flying Home is a textured, lacy confection made from either 50g or 100g of sport weight or heavy fingering yarn. I worked my mom’s sample in 50g of Plymouth Yarn Happy Feet, so it’s just big enough for her to tie it around her neck. The other sample was knitted in 100g of Frog Tree Alpaca Sportweight, and it’s definitely full scarf-length. You can download the pdf for free here.

Leafy Tops Hat

Lastly, we have one of my favorite patterns, the Leafy Tops Hat. After playing around with hat decreases for a while, I turned mine into  a cute leaf pattern. Coupled with the luscious Knit One, Crochet Two Brae Tweed (60% Merino, 20% Llama, 10% Wool, 10% Bamboo), this hat turned out pretty awesome, if I do say so myself. In fact, my sister liked it so much when I asked her to model it that I just had to give it to her for Hanukah! It would work well in any other worsted or aran weight, too, although I highly recommend the Brae Tweed. For a limited time, this pattern will be available for free (you can download the pdf here), but eventually I plan on turning it into a paid pattern!

Closing up the year, I have a couple of knitting resolutions for the next one. First of all, I really want to develop as a designer. I love making hats, and like to think I have a pretty good understanding of their construction. I would love to develop some more of the ideas ruminating in my head, and one of my goals is to get published…somewhere! Hopefully, I can make it happen.

Secondly, as I looked back at many of my projects, I realized how little I utilize my stash of knitting books (besides Socks from the Toe Up, which I pull down every time I make a toe-up sock!). I have already re-browsed through a bunch of my books and picked out several patterns I didn’t even know I had. Hopefully, I won’t get sidetracked by too many new things I see online and will actually make a few!

Leave a Reply

