A Year in Knitting Review, Part 1

Standard

As the year comes to a close, I thought it would be nice to go through some of my favorite projects from the past year. Looking back, I’ve noticed that there are some major trends seasonally. As a result, I’m going to go give summaries of about a dozen of my favorite projects, organized by season.

Winter

Almost exclusively, winter was my season of socks. I vaguely remember doing a lot of Christmas knitting in 2010, and I was probably exhausted out of my mind. I ended up putting in a big order at Knit Picks (free shipping!) and enjoying the spoils: some funky sock yarns.

Trilo Socks- sorry about the bad picture! I couldn't find my old sock ones, and it is rainy and grey outside today (rhyme!)

First up, we have my Trilo Socks. Using my ever-favorite Socks from the Toe Up, I picked out the Trilobite Socks to match with some Knit Picks Stroll Multi in the Aloha colorway. I did toes and heels in a contrasting leftover navy blue, and these babies came out pretty quickly. The little bits of lace gave the pattern something extra, and the ribbing ensures that these will pretty much always fit, no matter how many times they run through the wash.

plain vanilla socks. again, I apologize for the crappy pictures!

Continuing my sock knitting trend, I knit up two pairs of socks from some more Knit Picks yarn, this time Stroll Hand-Painted. The first pair were plain vanilla socks from Socks from the Toe Up. I used the last little bits of the Aloha from the last pair for toes and heels. They came out simple and cool, exactly what I wanted. You can really see every different shade of blue and brown, and I think they have every different shade that Knit Picks makes in them. In the other pair, I added a little bit of patterning. I used the stitch pattern from the Copper Penny Socks by Nancy Bush from Knitting Socks with Handpainted Yarn to give them a little extra va-va-voom. The lacey rib breaks up the colorway a little bit, contrasting nicely with the other pair.

Copper Penny Socks

Spring

In Spring, I think I switched tracks a little bit. School picked up a lot, leaving less time for knitting. As a result, I definitely got fewer projects finished, leaving me with only one project to showcase.

Sunrise Scarf

Here is the Sunrise Scarf. A precursor to my Flying Home Scarf pattern, I used the Sunrise stitch pattern from Vogue Knitting Volume 1 with no modifications. I only added a garter stitch border to the sides, and a couple of rows of garter on each end to keep it from curling up. I used some Newbury Yarns Handpainted, which was really really beautiful. It actually came as a souvenir from my mother’s trip to Boston, and she could not have picked something better!

4 responses »

  1. Nice work, here! How do you ever find the time? (Does everyone ask that? :D) I see those chevron mitts – too cool (last post), I need to make a pair! (coming from the girl who does chevron as stranding. ugh)

Leave a Reply

