FO Friday

Standard

I finally finished something in time to do a FO Friday! Yeah!

Nantes Hat, a late X-Mas/B-day gift for a friend

For those of you who haven’t guessed, I finally finished my Nantes Hat from the last issue of Interweave Knits. I used cheap-o Patons Classic Wool (100% Wool) in a light green color from my stash, which, although it is slightly scratchy, really showed off the intense cable and lace patterning. I’m happy to report that, despite what the weather channel said, today is sunny and is in the low 60’s. Therefore, good pictures! The color is pretty much dead on. Enjoy!

close-up on the detailing

Although I’m pretty happy with this project, there are a couple of things I might do a little differently if I do it again. First, does anyone remember how excited I was that the decreases continued the pattern? Yeah, well it turns out that there are about 5 rounds way at the top of the hat that need to be cabled, where she didn’t add any decreases. As you can probably tell, it looks pretty ridiculous when flat. You pretty much can’t tell at all when it’s on, but if I made the pattern again I would probably do something about it. Also, I’m not quite sure what the switching from size 6’s to 8’s after a couple of inches of the pattern did. I’m sure it didn’t hurt the hat, but I didn’t have a good size 6 circular needle around, so I was using one where the cable part just didn’t want to loop correctly, so it took FOREVER…and I now realize it was pretty¬†unnecessary. Oh, well.

In other news, I turned this…

slouch-rib cardigan

Into this…

I was going to take them outside to get some good pictures, but then you lose the perspective of how many little balls of yarn there are...

That was my Slouch Rib Cardigan out of Cascade Eco. I talked all about how it didn’t fit a couple of weeks ago. Now its about a dozen balls of differing sizes of solid brown wool. I’m looking forward to making the Livingstone Cardigan, a cozy, cabled sweater again out of the last issue of Interweave Knits, sometime soon from it. Hopefully I won’t run out. It’s a pretty popular yarn, so I’ll probably be able to find some in a pretty close colorway somewhere if I do. I can always use that for the collar/button band and call it a contrasting color!

But before I do that, I’ve cast on something new. Can you guess what it is? Here’s a hint: I’m trying to use the Knitting Pattern books I own more…I’m not sure if that is going to help you very much, but good luck guessing. I wish I could give out a prize, but as a poor college student (who hand-made most of her Christmas Gifts) all I can give out is kudos!

something new...

For my christian readers, have a Merry Christmas, may my Jewish friends have a Happy Hanukah, and let whoever I’ve forgotten have a happy holiday season!

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

