Beyond Toes: Review

Standard

front cover, disclaimer: this and most of these pictures were sniped from ravelry. The links are included in the text!

As I mentioned in my last post, a couple weeks ago I won a copy of Beyond Toes: Knitting Adventures with Judy’s Magic Cast On by Judy Becker over the Go Knit In Your Hat blog.  Thanks again, Carol! After several perusal’s of my new book, I have a couple of highlights to show you. First, the book does a great job going ‘beyond toes.’ I guess because the Cast On was invented for toe-up socks, Judy felt like she wanted to show you everything else you can use it for. And boy, did she. There’s a bunch of sections in this book, and, while not all of the garments match my personal style, some really do. These are my absolute favorites/must knits:

love!

Although I’ve never been a big fan of knitting mittens (I dunno…I think I really hate the thumbs), my only pare are getting a little bit old, so I was considering a new one. The Bobsled Mittens look perfect- they’ve got a cute design, but they’re not so crazy that I would never wear them. I don’t really have any yarn in mind, but I bet they’ll be on the needles sometime soon.

cool beans, man!

Next we have the Three-Point Socks. You all know me- I love the socks! And these have such an interesting construction… Usually I knit socks to unwind, so I use my basic toe-up pattern. But with this extra long break coming up where I don’t have much to do, I bet I’ll want to try something new. And these are really cool! The stitch pattern is really cool; it almost looks like a tilted stockinette. I bet I have some half-used-up handpaints that would work really well with this.

While I don’t know if I will ever knit this, it’s really cute and I just had to share. Laurel Jane’s Cap has a cabled top part with a brim…I’m pretty sure I’d never wear it, but I might find someone to gift it to. Who knows!

The book also has one other pattern that I really have to tell you about. I’ll never knit it, but the Swept Off My Feet Scarf is just adorable! It’s a scarf, but there’s two socks at the end. Maybe I would make this for another sock-knitter in a swap or something. I dunno, just had to show you all!

There’s also a great selection of other items: a pillow, a pattern for a stuffed pig, a netbook cozy, bags, shawls, a vest, more socks. You name it, this book has it. If you’re looking for some interesting, unique items, I definitely recommend it!

Finally, I’m going a little backwards here, but the book starts with a great explanation of the Magic Cast On, with a bunch of alternations that can be used with a variety of projects. Judy also includes a bit of her family history (old-time pictures included!), plus the story of how the cast-on was created. I’ve already used this part of the book…here are my newest socks! I’m calling them Wavy Toes (even though, you know, the waves aren’t actually on the toes).

toesies!

I’m going toe-up, and I’m just using a slant pattern that I’m making up as I go along. I hope it works out…although right now I’m thinking I might frog and do the pattern every row (I’m only doing it every other row now, and it’s sort of showing). It’s the Hanukah Socks for my aunt…hopefully I’ll have them finished with plenty of time. They’re made out of what I’m pretty sure is Knit One, Crochet Two Crock-O-Dye (65% wool, 20% nylon, 15% silk) in Fingering Weight from the Yarn Club in Virginia Beach. The yarn sure is pretty…light blues and white. Hopefully it’ll all work out!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

