Quick Question-

Standard

Hey guys, so while I’m waiting for the hat to get dry enough for me to take some pictures of it (I may have coerced a friend into modeling for me…) I’ve been putting together the pattern pdf. I’ve been wondering if you have any pet peeves or certain things you like to see in patterns. Personally, I hate it when they put the chart at the beginning of a 4 page pattern…so I’ve put it in the header of every page. Do you have any ideas on what you like to see?

Additionally, I’ve been pondering over if I want to charge for this pattern. At least initially, I promise to offer it for free. However, as a poor, unemployed college student, I’m a little at a loss. Knitting is an expensive hobby- especially when you have a hankering for the good stuff 😉 . I’m considering that after a couple of weeks/months, I’ll start charging a really small fee- only about a dollar or two. All proceeds would definitely go to the yarn fund, which is currently pretty sorely lacking. Does that seem unreasonable? I’ve put a lot of work into this pattern, and it’s really a complete set. I like to think it’s been pretty professionally done. What are your thoughts? Do you hate paying for patterns, or do you like to support really, really, small-time designers? I would really appreciate you guys’s thoughts on both subjects, and happy weekend-knitting!

6 responses »

  1. While I always love a free pattern, I wouldn’t mind spending a dollar or two on a hat pattern. However, as I am also a poor college student, I’d say charge three. If I had the time to design my own pattern, I would, and I would totally be charging so I could get some yarn. 🙂
    Of course I could do that instead of Skyrim, but I am as hopelessly addicted as I am to yarn.
    As for pattern pet precede, I like it when people put both charts and written instructions, cause sometimes I’m in the mood for charts and other times I like words.
    This last one is just a personal observation/something I like. I know a bunch of free patterns tell you to not sell their pattern or product of pattern, since they’ve been working hard on it, which is totally awesome and understandable. But I bought a pattern once that said, please don’t sell the pattern, but do whatever you like with the product, and I would like to know your opinions on this.

    • I do have the pattern in both chart and written form- I can totally get into either a written or a chart mindset. Charts are much more visual, so you can actually see the pattern, but the written version requires a lot less brainpower!
      For me, as long as you credit me as having written the pattern (and don’t claim to have done it yourself!), I think it’s totally fine to sell finished versions. The amount of time and energy you put into your unique garment is entirely your own, and I don’t feel the need to forbid you from profiting on it. I do understand the urge, however, to keep people from profiting off of your work…I just don’t feel it 😉

      • I’m not saying that I will, I just like to know if I can or not. But I have so little time, that it’s not like i’ll really be able to anyway. I also totally agree with your thoughts on time and effort, but I feel like if I suddenly make 50 hats and sell them for profit, it should at least be a pattern I paid for, so that the person who came up with the wonderful idea can get something out of it.

  2. You should totally charge for your pattern. And I say charge $4-5. Your time, energy, and pattern are worth it. I think it is worth having a free pattern or two so people can see how you write up patterns.

  3. Both chart and written instructions, please. We all think and learn differently; imnsho, offering both shows a designer’s respect for this fact (although of course it means more work for you as well). As for how much to charge, I’d say $4-5. That is what most patterns on Ravelry seem to sell for, or at least the ones I notice. A pattern for a sweater or something complicated — a lace shawl, for example — could easily justify a somewhat higher price.

Leave a Reply

