Sock Pattern Round-Up

Standard

Since all I’ve done since we last spoke is cast on a pair of boring, plain-jane socks, I thought I would take a look at a couple of sock patterns that I’ve recently added to my ravelry quene- and maybe show you the yarns that I plan to use with them!

snagged from the ravelry page (link above)

duchess, unskeined

First up is Sunday Swing from Knitty Summer 2009. This pattern really just looks like a simple sock with a very simple lace pattern, which is just what I need for some of the more…eclectic…sock yarns ruminating in my stash. Right now I’m thinking about my Twilight Knits Superwash Merino Fingering Weight in the duchess colorway. I picked this up from her etsy shop well over a year ago. Pretty quickly, I knocked out a pair of Dead Simple Lace Socks, and it came out pretty awesomely. The mix of the pinks/purple, shocking blue, and golden yellow is gorgeous together- but you really can’t add much else without basically killing your eyes. Whoops. The one thing I’m not too happy about with this yarn is the amount of fading it’s taken in the past year of heavy wear, but is that really going to stop me from finishing the rest of the skein? NOPE!

snagged from the ravelry page (link above)

overexposed, so the colors are a little deeper than that, but I'm sure you get the idea...

Next, lets take a look at the Blackrose Socks from Knitty Winter 2008 designed by Suzi. At first I thought this was just a sort of standard sock with a little lace panel…and then I looked a little closer. The lace panel doesn’t run down the center of the leg like most do. Instead, it covers the side of the leg and foot, creating a really, really cool effect. I’m considering using my Araucania Ranco Multy, purchased at In Stitches Needlework for this project. I have actually already made a pair from this yarn, and I was really turned off that, despite the fact that it is 25% nylon, the sock still felted a little in the wash. Non-machine washable socks are not something I really desire, but I figure I’ll work something out- I can always just wash them in my sink and lay them out on a towel to dry. I think I have some wool-lite at home- I should totally pick that up. Anyway- Ranco Multy, greens, brown, a little bit of blue…cute. Hopefully, solid enough to fit with this pattern. I think it’ll work…

snagged from the ravelry page (link above)

once again, overexposed...sorry

Finally, the only pattern not from knitty! Here is Nutkin from Knitzi.com and designed by Betty. Nutkin uses yo’s and decreases to create a cable look without any cables. As a result, you don’t get the gaps and thickening that you can get from big cables, which is totally a plus for a sock! Despite the fact that its a free pattern there’s some really cute and professional touches throughout the pattern, and I think it’ll look great with the rest of my Malabrigo Sock, which I picked up at the then brand-new Yarn Lounge. I fell in love with the purple, and the little golden touches fit surprisingly well with the yarn (hey, those are the same colors as my tallis…trend?). Browsing through the pictures of other people who used the same yarn makes me think it will come out perfectly!

Leave a Reply

