Finished Object: Danielle’s Scarf

Standard

I know it’s been a couple of weeks, but I wanted to give you the final update on my sister’s Hanukah Scarf. For those of you just tuning in, I made this using a gorgeous skein of Manos Silk Blend bought at the wonderful Knitting Sisters in Williamsburg. Eventually I settled on a small feather and fan pattern on size 10 US needles. It made a lovely wavy pattern, and the colors (blues and greens and purples) reminded me of the beach, which I thought was perfect. My sister is currently in graduate school to be a Physicians’ Assistant in the mountains, so a little reminder of her beach-hometown couldn’t hurt.

Close up on the stitch pattern...

I finished the project a couple of days before my long weekend/fall break and managed to get it all pinned out and blocked then with minimal drama. While I was home it was pretty gloomy out, so my shots aren’t that good (forgive me!), but I think this scarf came out pretty good in the end.

Another close up

This yarn was pretty spectacular, too. Usually single plies drive me insane with their splitty-ness, but I think this manos just blinded me with the pretty. Also, the openwork lace feel of the scarf lends itself to the kind of single ply, thick-and-thin yarn that manos specializes in. I am VERY tempted to invest in another skein for myself…except I have about twenty scarves already. Crap.

In all of its finished glory!

3 responses »

  1. It looks gorgeous (Manos Silk Blend is one of my favourite yarns) 🙂

    In response to your comment on my blog – it made me laugh because I actually use Chrome too, but we are in a small minority according to my stats 😉

  2. Pingback: Socks and Scarves | collegeknitting

Leave a Reply

