The Sweater Saga, Part 2

Standard

I guess part two of this sweater saga starts with me actually looking at the pattern and pictures in Interweave. I know, I know, I should have done this BEFORE I started it the first time, but I was blinded! I swear- the sweater was just so PURPLE and PRETTY and the model looked so HAPPY that I had to make it. But, to get to the point, I looked at the sweater and I made some decisions.

First- I would use my size 8 needles, and damn it all, the gauge would be 5.5 stitches per inch.

Second- I would use that gauge and, taking the measurements from a sweater I have already made, I would just make it from scratch. I know, I know, it sounded like a good idea at the time. Do you want to know what my schematic/instructions/pattern looks like? Yeah, that’s it. What are those crinkles? Why is it so light? Why is the page turned down? That is because I drew this on the back of my original copy of the pattern. Classy, I know.

Third- I WILL NOT KNIT IT ALL IN ONE PIECE. I know what  you’re saying- why not? Do you actually LIKE seaming? (And if so, will you seam my sweaters for me?) Well, the answer is no- I do not like seaming (and trust me, you do not want me to seam your sweaters for you). But, as all of my 32″ options cords seem to have disappeared on me, it is A LOT easier to knit separate pieces. I will just suck it up and sew…eventually. Some time in the future. Perhaps the far future.

Fourth- the collar. I still have no idea what to do about the collar, but I will do SOMETHING. Both sides will match, although they might just have a shawl collar. Or lapels. Or that cute little turned collar. Again, SOMETHING.

Fifth- Last but not least, I will have BUTTONS. Pretty little buttons that will look good against the green and fit their holes and be generally magical. The magical buttons will magically appear in a yarn shop and it will be wonderful. Oh yes, yes it will.

16th Century Spain, the sexy beast himself...

Sorry for the general brevity of this post, but as Local Religion in Sixteenth Century Spain is, once again, singing it’s siren call, I must adjourn until later. To see part one of the Sweater Saga, please go here… https://collegeknitting.wordpress.com/2011/09/12/hello-world/

Leave a Reply

