Blog Week(s) In Revew: 1/7-1/21

Standard

Well, it’s been over a week since I last posted. Woops! It’s not that I haven’t been knitting. Oh no, I’ve been knitting like a fiend. Most of it, though, is design projects. There’s something about designing that makes me a little hesitant to blog. Probably the uncertainty- there’s never a guarantee that your WIP will turn out (Rocky Coast Cardigan, anyone?), but at least when you’re working on other people’s designs there’s guidance. You have none of that when you’re just starting out! Well, I’m just about finished knitting on the last design for a little bit, so I’ll hopefully have progress on someone else’s pattern to show you on Wed. Until then, I have some lovely blog posts to show you guys! We’re a little heavy on the accessories, today, but no worries.

Who doesn’t like a quickie? First, there’s Sezza Knit’s newest design, the Basket Weave Rib Socks. These seem like a perfect little pattern to add to my never-ending sock queue. Simple enough to keep in my head but complicated enough to keep my interest. Best of all, they’re free!

I really love Nook’s Angelus Shawl. It fits in this whole trend of combining colorwork with other skills, like textured stitches, cables, and lace. Honestly, I can’t get enough of looking at this shawl. It’s truly a masterful project.

Stitched Together’s Fluvial Shawl is also pretty gorgeous. The simplicity of the lace and cable columns set on stockinette and ribbing is, somehow, just as attractive as something five times as complicated!

Twisted Knitter’s Adiri Slouch Hat seems like the perfect winter hat. A fun knit and a fun wear!

If you’re into colorwork mittens, you have to check out The Knitting Squid’s Octopus Mittens. Not only is it an ingenious pattern of, you guessed it, Octopuses (Octopi?) on mittens, but I love the colors she chose. Plus, the detail of the tentacles continuing on the inside is really cute!

Finally, there’s just one garment. I absolutely love Don’t Drool on the Wool’s Fair Isle Yoke Cardigan. Her technique is absolutely wonderful, and it seems like it fits really, really well. She seems completely happy with it. Plus, she steeked! Steeking medal awarded ;)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

