WIP Wed: Hurricane Progress

Standard

Over my extra long weekend I got a ton of progress done on my Turn of the Glass Cardigan. How much progress? Well, last week I had my inch of seed stitch. Now, I have this:

About 10 inches of the bottom on the fronts and back

It’s been a really fun, intuitive knit! I’ve been modding the heck out of this pattern, although it hasn’t always been on purpose. I wanted to add length, so I extended the start of the cable pattern and added a couple of inches of stockinette. I probably could have just started the cable pattern earlier, because the pattern calls for you to extend the ribbing across the whole back of the sweater. Did I explain that ok? I have no idea. I accidently didn’t do that, anyway.

Side detail

I’ve really enjoyed the stitch pattern. It’s very intuitive- one of those that, as soon as you memorize the actual stitches, you can apply the overall pattern to it. As I was watching the patterns appear, I was a little scared that the fake cable pattern would look really messy next to the real cables. The yarn (Berocco Vintage DK) is 60% acrylic, so the stitch definition isn’t amazing, too. Zooming out, though, I like the contrast. It looks really good!

Really, really close up. I don’t know what happened to the color here.

For more WIP Wed posts, check out Tami’s.

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

