Review: Pom Pom Magazine

Standard

I don’t know if you guys have noticed, but I’m a fairly monogamous knitter. For the past couple of weeks I’ve been blogging about my Coquette Vest/Tank/thing, and it’s still coming along great. In fact, I’ve already separated at the armholes and am almost halfway up the back. The end is in sight! Still, nothings really changed enough for me to take pictures, so I figured that I would blog about something else today.

A couple of weeks (months?) ago, I participated in the Playful Day Podcast’s post-Ravellenics Knit Along. I managed to win a copy of the super-awesome Pom Pom magazine, a UK publication that has been in the podcast several times but I was not able to get my hands on. It came in the mail a few days ago, so I thought I would blog my thank you to Magazine and Podcast for such an awesome gift. Thanks!

First of all, the wonderful ladies over at Pom Pom wrapped my copy in tissue paper with a personalized tag, which was a wonderful touch. I really appreciated that!

And after I ripped that tissue paper off, here’s what I found. Surprisingly, it feels a little more like a booklet then a magazine, at least in size and binding. They used matte paper (instead of glossy, which is what most magazines use), too, which was something different. It definitely fit their aesthetic  was probably more economical, and I don’t think it took anything away from the magazine. Overall, it was probably a smart choice.

 

Like all Knitting Magazines, my definite favorite part is the patterns. Onda was one of my favorites! This publication follows the whole pictures and brief information in the front, pattern in the back model, which was something to think about as I flipped through. I don’t think it’s my favorite way to go about things, because I might fall in love with a sweater and get really excited, only to realize that it uses a method or construction that I don’t like further down the road. Still, it doesn’t make these patterns any less yummy!

Speaking of patterns, I wanted to give you a little glimpse at the layout Pom Pom uses. It is definitely not what you see in most magazines! I really enjoyed how the schematics actually showed what the garment looks like. Plus, they’re plenty big. The type and charts is bigger than what you find in most magazines, too, which was a pleasant surprise. It felt much more like I was getting a pattern out of a book or the internet!

The next most awesome thing about this magazine was the variety of features. To top off the crafty-ness, there is also a Dia De Los Muertos (Day of the Dead, a Mexican holidy) theme going on here. They included a recipe for Chili Chocolate Cake and a Skull Embroidery Pattern, along with a small section about the holiday. Coming from 4 years of High School Spanish (and even some Elementary School Spanish!), this is definitely a holiday that I know a fair amount about. Still, I’m not sure how familiar someone from the UK would be with it, probably making it a very original idea!

Overall, there are definite plusses and minuses to this magazine. Still it’s a very original approach to a knitting publication, so I encourage you guys to check it out. Thanks again to the publishers of Pom Pom and the Playful Day Podcast for letting me win a copy- I’m really enjoying it!

 

 

 

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

