WIP Wed: waiting

Standard

Right now, I’m pretty much waiting for an order to come in from Knit Picks. And it’s not like I’m JUST waiting for a skein of yarn: I’m waiting for supplies for three separate projects that I have in mind. So, just to pass the time, I’ve cast on a quick hat in my Freedom Spirit. I know I’ve talked about doing the Spoked Hat from last year’s Interweave Knits winter, but after obsessively browsing the project pages, I think the bobbles are just too big for me to actually wear the hat…at all. I’ve already done about an inch of ribbing, but I think I’m going to convert to stockinette. The yarn is just so busy that only stockinette can do it real justice.

the yarn is a bit lighter, but you can how tell all over the place it is here

Besides working on the hat, I’ve been covertly planning the projects I’m going to work on when that package FINALLY comes in. To start, we can talk about this old cardigan.

slightly, you know, tiny

It was a Garter Yoke Cardigan¬†from the now-dead Knit.1 Magazine. I made it within months of getting the magazine, so that dates it to 2008. Let me tell you, it was pretty small three years ago, and I’ve only gotten bigger (don’t judge- Freshman 15. Completely legit.). It’s always been too short. You can’t tell, but the grey T-Shirt I’m wearing underneath it goes for about another four inches, and I usually like my sweaters longggggg. I made it before I really knew anything about ease, or swatching, so it’s pretty much too tight all around. I had to use a bunch of buttons to keep it from gaping, and they just look a little big. I probably could’ve used some smaller ones for a bit of¬†balance. And then there’s the neck. It’s way too big. I don’t know if it’s because it is a raglan or what, but it has the hugest neck I have ever seen. It would be find if I work collared shirts that kind of peaked out, but I don’t, and it just looks strange.

the yarn is definitely more red than how it looks in this picture...it's like in between this one and the one of the old cardgian

Anyway, judging from the fact that it’s been sitting in the drawer for about two years, I decided it was time to frog. So now I have about 350g of Plymouth Yarns Galway Highland Heather in colorway 746. It’s just a bit pinker than it looks in the picture- almost like a lipstick that’s between pink and red. I don’t know how to describe it. Anyway, I’m adding a skein of the same yarn in a light brown for a little bit of contrast. It’s going to become one of the sweaters in a book that is hopefully coming in the Knit Picks order (all books 40% off- who can beat that?), and I’m really, really excited to make it!

Bobsled Mittens, picture courtesy of ravelry (link below)

My other WIP plans include a new pair of mittens. I’m not a huge fan of knitting mittens, which is probably why I’ve been using the same pair for the past four years. It’s time for a change. Some of you might remember that I won a copy of Judy Becker’s Beyond Toes: Knitting Adventures with Judy’s Magic Cast On. I was pretty entranced by the Bobsled Mittens, and I’m happy to say that I also grabbed some yarn that I’m pretty hopeful will work with these. It’s luscious and warm, but simple enough to show of the interesting construction. Excitement!

For more WIP Wed. posts, check out Tami’s.

Leave a Reply

